Barbosa Portuguese cyclist of the year

Cândido Barbosa has been named Portuguese Cyclist of the year 2005 by the readers of Portuguese website Cyclolusitano. The LA Alumínios-Liberty Seguros rider beat the young talented riders Hugo Sabido and Sérgio Ribeiro, in a poll carried out from November 1-21.

Cândido Barbosa, who was European Champion in 1996, won three stages at the Tour of Portugal this year, finishing second overall behind Russian Vladimir Efimkin. Past winners of the title are Sérgio Paulinho (2004), Nuno Ribeiro (2003) and José Azevedo (2002 and 2001).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1