Austrian Cyclist of the year

Boris Tetzlaff, who finished second in the European Downhill Championships, has been elected Austria's Cyclist of the Year. The ongoing selection had to be restarted when Bernhard Kohl admitted to having used doping products during the Tour de France.

Tetzlaff received 40 percent of the votes from the readers of the website of the Österreichischer Radsport Verband (ÖRV), the Austrian Cycling Federation. Second place, with 34 percent, went to Jacqueline Hahn, who finished second in the Junior European time trial championships. In third place, with 11 per cent, was the women's four-person team in Artistic Cycling, which won gold in their World Championships.

The first pro rider was Christian Pfannberger, Team Barloworld, with four per cent in fourth place.

"The good news is that the performance of the young riders is being acknowledged," said ÖRV president Otto Flum. "I think that is a step in the right direction."(SW)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1