Australian world's team announced

Cycling Australia has confirmed the Australian team to contest the 2006 UCI road cycling world championships being staged in Salzburg, Austria from September 19 to 24. The team has been selected in accordance with the Cycling Australia road world championships selection policy.

The elite men's road race team will consist of Cadel Evans, Nick Gates, Simon Gerrans, Mathew Hayman, Robbie McEwen, Bradley McGee, Stuart O'Grady, Michael Rogers and Matthew White. Contesting the elite men's time trial will be Ben Day, Bradley McGee and Michael Rogers.

Representing the elite women's team, in the road race, are Katherine Bates, Natalie Bates, Olivia Gollan, Helen Kelly, Emma Rickards and Oenone Wood, with Kathryn Watt and Oenone Wood riding in the women's time trial event.

The U/23 men's team has also been announced. The road team will consist of Jonathon Clarke Simon Clarke, Matthew Goss, Shaun Higgerson, and James Meadley, with the time trial to be ridden by Mark Jamieson and Shaun Higgerson.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1