Skip to main content

Australian team for Track Worlds

Cycling Australia has confirmed its final selection to contest the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Manchester starting this Wednesday, March 26. Olympic 500m time trial champion Anna Meares has not been named in the squad, with local Queensland newspaper the Rockhampton Morning Bulletin reporting that doctors in Adelaide advised Meares against riding after final checkups revealed she was not sufficiently recovered from the broken neck sustained at the Los Angeles Track World Cup in January.

The full line-up for the Australian team is as follows.
Men's sprint: Ryan Bayley, Daniel Ellis, Mark French, Shane Kelly, Ben Kersten, Shane Perkins and Scott Sunderland.
Men's endurance: Jack Bobridge, Graeme Brown, Leigh Howard, Mark Jamieson, Bradley McGee, Cameron Meyer, Luke Roberts and Phillip Thuaux.
Women's sprint: Kaarle McCulloch.
Women's endurance: Katherine Bates, Belinda Goss and Katie Mactier.