Australia Day honours to Olympic cyclists

On January 26, Australia celebrates its national day and as part of those celebrations, it bestows medals to Australians for their contributions to the country over the past 12 months. The honours are ranked in Companion, Officer, Member and General categories and in 2005, the cyclists who secured Australia's six gold medals at the Athens 2004 Olympics were among the recipients of the OAM honour, being a medal in the General Division.

The cyclists include Sara Carrigan (gold medal - women's road race), as well as Anna Meares (women's 500m TT), Ryan Bayley (men's sprint and keirin), Graeme Brown (men's teams pursuit and Madison), Stuart O'Grady (Madison), and all six cyclists who contributed to the gold medal in the teams pursuit, with the aforementioned Brown plus Bradley McGee, Luke Roberts, Brett Lancester, Peter Dawson and Stephen Wooldridge.

In fact, the OAM medal was awarded to almost all Australian athletes who secured gold medals in the both the Athens Olympic and Paralympic Games, with the apparent exception of those who'd previously received Australia Day Honours.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1