Aldag wins at Dortmunder Weihnachtspreis

The soon-to-be-retired Rolf Aldag dominated the 69th Großen Weihnachstpreis Dortmund on Boxing Day. The German team comprising Aldag, Erik Zabel, Guido Fulst and Jan van Eijden won the Omnium der Asse by 70 points to 62 over an international team of Bruno Risi (Switzerland), Barry Forde (Barbados), Danny Stam (Netherlands) and Robert Slippens (Netherlands). Aldag took the overall title by beating Zabel in the Derny race.

In addition, the Stayers World Cup was won by Andreas Beikirch behind pacemaker Dieter Durst, his fifth win in a row, a new record. He was followed by Petr Jörg (Switzerland, with Rene Aebi), Andreas Kappes (Germany, with Christian Dippel), Reinier Honing (Netherlands, with Bruno Walraven), Gerd Dörich (Germany, with Gerd Gessler) and Carsen Podlesch (Germany, with Herlmut Baur).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1