24 teams announced for 2011 Amstel Gold Race

Organizers of the 2011 Amstel Gold Race announced the final two teams to compete in the only Dutch Spring Classic, giving the last wild card spots to the Professional Continental teams Cofidis and Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli.

The news follows an announcement last week that Skil-Shimano, Landbouwkrediet, Veranda's Willems and Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator had been given wild card invitations.

The six Pro Continental squads join the 18 ProTour teams to complete the 24-squad roster for the 46th edition of the race.

Among the teams which competed last year which did not earn a repeat invitation are FDJ and the Spanish team Geox-TMC, formerly Footon-Servetto.

The number one rider on this year's start list will be Omega Pharma-Lotto's Philippe Gilbert, who was victorious atop the Cauberg in the 2010 Amstel Gold Race.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1