Skip to main content

2018 Herald Sun Tour prologue start times

Image 1 of 5

Esteban Chaves digs deep

Esteban Chaves digs deep (Image credit: Jayco Herald Sun Tour)
Image 2 of 5

New race leader, Damien Howson (Orica-Scott)

New race leader, Damien Howson (Orica-Scott) (Image credit: Con Chronis)
Image 3 of 5

Ed Clancy does his best race face

Ed Clancy does his best race face (Image credit: PEdALED)
Image 4 of 5

Alex Edmondson (Mitchelton-Scott).

Alex Edmondson (Mitchelton-Scott). (Image credit: Tim de Waele/
Image 5 of 5

Callum Scotson (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) in the green and gold

Callum Scotson (Mitchelton-BikeExchange) in the green and gold (Image credit: Con Chronis)

2017 Herald Sun Tour champion Damien Howson (Mitchelton-Scott) will start his title defence at 6:17:15pm in the 1.6-kilometre prologue to kick off the final race of the Australian summer.

Howson will be the 43rd of 102 starters with 45 seconds to separate each rider. Australian national road race champion Alex Edmondson (Mitchelton-Scott) is the last rider to start at 7:01:30pm.

The opening prologue course starts in Alexandra Gardens on the south bank of the Yarra River with riders following the Capital City Trail to the finish at Queensbridge Square. Although the start of the prologue has been adjusted from previous years, the fast finish remains unchanged.

The first rider to start will be Reece Tucknott of the KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia team at 5:45:45pm. Early riders to watch who are favoured to place well at the conclusion of the stage in include Joseph Cooper (Bennelong SwissWellness), and Edward Clancy (JLT Condor). However, the likes of Lasse Norman Hansen (Aqua Blue Sport), Michael Hepburn (Mitchelton-Scott), Callum Scotson (KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia), Anthony Giacoppo (Bennelong SwissWellness) and Alex Frame (Trek-Segafredo) are all late starters and expected to post times capable of taking a win.

For the GC riders, the time of Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott) at 6:06pm will be one to watch with the Colombian aiming to get an early advantage before the four road stages. 

Start times

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Reece Tucknott (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia17:45:45
2Ross Freeman (Aus) Team McDonalds Downunder17:46:30
3Freddy Overt (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast17:47:15
4Thomas Robinson (Aus) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team17:48:00
5Oliver Kent-Spark (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale17:48:45
6Nicholas White (Aus) Olivers Real Food Racing17:49:30
7Dylan Newbery (Aus) Mobius BridgeLane17:50:15
8Joseph Cooper (NZl) Bennelong SwissWellness17:51:00
9Kyohei Mizuno (Jpn) Interpro Stradalli Cycling17:51:45
10Edward Clancy (GBr) JLT Condor17:52:30
11Shane Archbold (NZl) Aqua Blue Sport17:53:15
12Tyler Williams (USA) Israel Cycling Academy17:54:00
13Lucas Hamilton (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott17:54:45
14Lionel Mawdit (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia17:55:30
15Cameron Layton (Aus) Team McDonalds Downunder17:56:15
16Amarni Drake (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast17:57:00
17Oliver Martin (Aus) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team17:57:45
18Thomas Kaesler (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale17:58:30
19Rien Schuurhuis (Ned) Olivers Real Food Racing17:59:15
20Angus Lyons (Aus) Mobius BridgeLane18:00:00
21Cameron Bayly (Aus) Bennelong SwissWellness18:00:45
22Yukinori Hishira (Jpn) Interpro Stradalli Cycling18:01:30
23Alistair Slater (GBr) JLT Condor18:02:15
24Casper Pedersen (Den) Aqua Blue Sport18:03:00
25Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij18:03:45
26Hamish Schreurs (NZl) Israel Cycling Academy18:04:30
27Niklas Eg (Den) Trek-Segafredo18:05:15
28Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott18:06:00
29Matt Ross (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia18:06:45
30Nick Miler (Aus) Team McDonalds Downunder18:07:30
31Ashley Mackay (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast18:08:15
32Jonathan Noble (Aus) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team18:09:00
33Theodore Yates (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale18:09:45
34Benjamin Andrews (Aus) Olivers Real Food Racing18:10:30
35Peter Livingstone (Aus) Mobius BridgeLane18:11:15
36Steele von Hoff (Aus) Bennelong SwissWellness18:12:00
37Jonas Hjorth (Nor) Interpro Stradalli Cycling18:12:45
38Edmund Bradbury (GBr) JLT Condor18:13:30
39Lawrence Warbasse (USA) Aqua Blue Sport18:14:15
40Jeroen Meijers (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij18:15:00
41Krists Neilands (Lat) Israel Cycling Academy18:15:45
42Koen De Kort (Ned) Trek-Segafredo18:16:30
43Damien Howson (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott18:17:15
44Pat Lane (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia18:18:00
45Kane Richards (Aus) Team McDonalds Downunder18:18:45
46Michael Potter (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast18:19:30
47Ryan Thomas (Aus) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team18:20:15
48Cyrus Monk (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale18:21:00
49Ryan Christensen (Aus) Olivers Real Food Racing18:21:45
50Brad Evans (NZl) Mobius BridgeLane18:22:30
51Dylan Sunderland (Aus) Bennelong SwissWellness18:23:15
52Ken-Levi Eikeland (Nor) Interpro Stradalli Cycling18:24:00
53Graham Briggs (GBr) JLT Condor18:24:45
54Calvin Watson (Aus) Aqua Blue Sport18:25:30
55Etienne Van Empel (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij18:26:15
56August Jensen (Nor) Israel Cycling Academy18:27:00
57Laurent Didier (Lux) Trek-Segafredo18:27:45
58Robert Power (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott18:28:30
59James Whelan (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia18:29:15
60Yuan Tang Peng (Tpe) Team McDonalds Downunder18:30:00
61Aidan Kampers (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast18:30:45
62Mitch Neumann (Aus) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team18:31:30
63Jesse Featonby (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale18:32:15
64Nicholas Reddish (Aus) Olivers Real Food Racing18:33:00
65Alexander Evans (Aus) Mobius BridgeLane18:33:45
66Sam Crome (Aus) Bennelong SwissWellness18:34:30
67Jayson Rousseau (Fra) Interpro Stradalli Cycling18:35:15
68Thomas Stuart (GBr) JLT Condor18:36:00
69Peter Koning (Ned) Aqua Blue Sport18:36:45
70Robbert De Greef (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij18:37:30
71Roy Goldstein (Isr) Israel Cycling Academy18:38:15
72Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo18:39:00
73Cameron Meyer (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott18:39:45
74Michael Rice (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia18:40:30
75Alexander Ray (Aus) Team McDonalds Downunder18:41:15
76Toby Orchard (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast18:42:00
77Calan White (Aus) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team18:42:45
78Liam Magennis (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale18:43:30
79Jack Sutton (Aus) Olivers Real Food Racing18:44:15
80Alistair Donohoe (Aus) Mobius BridgeLane18:45:00
81Chris Harper (Aus) Bennelong SwissWellness18:45:45
82Jokin Extabe (Spa) Interpro Stradalli Cycling18:46:30
83Matthew Gibson (GBr) JLT Condor18:47:15
84Lasse Norman Hansen (Den) Aqua Blue Sport18:48:00
85Martijn Budding (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij18:48:45
86Nathan Earle (Den) Israel Cycling Academy18:49:30
87Ruben Guerreiro (Por) Trek-Segafredo18:50:15
88Michael Hepburn (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott18:51:00
89Callum Scotson (Aus) KordaMentha Real Estate - Australia18:51:45
90Joel Strachan (Aus) Team McDonalds Downunder18:52:30
91Stu Shaw (Aus) ACA - Ride Sunshine Coast18:53:15
92Michael Vink (NZl) Brisbane Continental Cycling Team18:54:00
93Liam White (Aus) Drapac–EF p/b Cannondale18:54:45
94Sean Whitfield (Aus) Olivers Real Food Racing18:55:30
95Jesse Coyle (Aus) Mobius BridgeLane18:56:15
96Anthony Giacoppo (Aus) Bennelong SwissWellness18:57:00
97Daniel Whitehouse (GBr) Interpro Stradalli Cycling18:57:45
98Ian Bibby (GBr) JLT Condor18:58:30
99Tim Ariesen (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij18:59:15
100Zakkari Dempster (Den) Israel Cycling Academy19:00:00
101Alex Frame (NZl) Trek-Segafredo19:00:45
102Alex Edmondson (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott19:01:30