Warbasse: We're one of the biggest hitters for a Classics team

ROCCARASO ITALY OCTOBER 11 Larry Warbasse of The United States and Team Ag2R La Mondiale Giovanni Visconti of Italy and Team Vini Zabu KTM Breakaway during the 103rd Giro dItalia 2020 Stage 9 a 207km stage from San Salvo to Roccaraso Aremogna 1658m girodiitalia Giro on October 11 2020 in Roccaraso Italy Photo by Tim de WaeleGetty Images
Larry Warbasse on the attack in the 2020 Giro d'Italia (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Now back home in the United States, Larry Warbasse is busy building up the miles as he trains ahead of next season. The American thought that his career might be coming to an end this year, but AG2R Citroën offered him a two-year extension and now Warbasse has his sights on winning Grand Tour stages in 2021 and racing with one of the most impressive Classics lineups in the WorldTour.

Cyclingnews: Larry, you’re back in the US now after a whirlwind season that involved lockdowns, contract worries, a Giro d’Italia, and a positive test for COVID-19, but how does it feel to be back home?

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at Cyclingnews.com between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.