Engen too good in Nove Mesto eliminator

Bresset, Ravanel make up the podium

Alexandra Engen (Ghost Factory) dominated the women's competition at round 2of the UCI Eliminator Mountain Bike World Cup.

The second round of the eliminator was completely different from round 1 in Houffalize, Belgium. Where the Belgian race had short, steep climbs, technical descents and narrow singletrack, Nove Mesto was wide open, with pavement and dirt forest roads. This led to multiple sprints and some photo finish results in the heats.

Engen qualified first for the women and won both of her preliminary heats to move into the final. She was joined there by 2011 cross country World Cup champion Julie Bresset (BH-SR Suntour-Peisey Vallandry), Eva Lechner (Colnago Sudtirol), Australia's Rowena Fry, Laura Turpijn (MPL Specialized) and Cecile Ravanel (GT Skoda Chamonix).

Former downhill and four cross world champions Tracy Moseley and Anneke Beerten (Milka-Superior) were missing from the final.

Turpijn took the early lead in the final, but the group stayed together for the entire 1100-metre circuit, with Engen hitting the front 150 metres from the line and easily outdistancing her rivals. Engen had enough of a lead to coast across the line with her arms in the air, while Bresset nipped countrywoman Ravanel at the line for second.

After an early season filled with injury and illness, Engen said it was the first time she had felt fully healthy. "This is a really positive result for me, after the spring. In the quarter finals, I realized that I had my full fitness, and that I was able to do well. I like this kind of wide course where it is possible to pass and use my sprint."

Full Results

Big final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alexandra Engen (Swe) Ghost Factory Racing Team  
2Julie Bresset (Fra) BH - SR Suntour - Peisey Vallandry  
3Cécile Ravanel (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix  
4Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Sudtirol  
5Laura Turpijn (Ned) MPL Specialized MTB Team  
6Rowena Fry (Aus)  
Small final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
7Anne Terpstra (Ned) MPL Specialized MTB Team  
8Pavla Havlikova (Cze)  
9Pavlina Sulcova (Cze) Merida Biking Team  
10Chloe Woodruff (USA)  
11Ramona Forchini (Swi) MTB Kader Zentralschweiz  
12Kajsa Snihs (Swe)  
Round 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
13Jenny Rissveds (Swe) Sweden  
14Ana Zupan (Slo) Energijateam.com  
15Tracy Moseley (GBr)  
16Angelica Edvardsson (Swe)  
17Heidi Sandsto Rosaasen (Nor) Team United Bakeries  
18Anneke Beerten (Ned) Milka-Superior MTB Racing Team  
19Paula Gorycka (Pol) 4F E-Vive Racing Team  
20Caroline Mani (Fra)  
21Nicoletta De Jager (Ned) MPL Specialized MTB Team  
22Joanna Petterson (USA)  
23Lucie Vesela (Cze) GT Bicycles Opportunity  
24Tina Perse (Slo) Slovenia  
25Katherine O'Shea (Aus)  
26Erica Zaveta (USA) Moda-Bikemagic Racing Team  
27Weronika Rybarczyk (Pol) Superior MTB Energy Team  
28Imogen Buick (GBr) Moda-Bikemagic Racing Team  
29Rita Malinkiewicz (Pol) Poland  
Back to top