Lang gets another win for Team Jayco AIS

Haas, Smith take minor placings

Team Jayco AIS rider Richard Lang out-sprinted his rivals to claim the combined elite and under 23 road race at the 2011 Oceania Road Championships in Dookie, Victoria.

Lang sprinted home at the end of the 162.4km race in a time of 3:59:47 with breakaway partners Nathan Hass (Genesys Wealth Advisers) second and Victoria’s Stuart Smith close behind in third place.

The 22-year-old has enjoyed a successful start to the year, finishing second in the under 23 criterium at the Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships in January.

A tremendous field of 123 riders set off from Dookie in one of the biggest spectacles the small township has seen. It was a frantic start, when after only three kilometres into the race a clip of wheels sent fifteen riders tumbling to the bitumen.

The first attack of the day came early with Patrick Lane (Team Jayco AIS) and Jason Rigg trying their luck out in front, but their solo rider efforts were easily reeled in by peloton.

Towards the end of the race, a decisive move was made by a group of seven riders that included Lang and Team Jayco AIS team mate Damien Howson. The breakaway group established a lead of two minutes over the chasing peloton coming into the final stages of the race.

On the final journey into town, Lang found something extra in the final sprint of three riders as he celebrated in jubilation as he crossed the line.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Richard Lang3:59:47 
2Nathan Haas  
3Stuart Smith  
4Damien Howson0:00:08 
5Luke Davison0:00:41 
6Malcolm Rudolph  
7Glenn O'Shea0:01:34 
8Scott Law0:02:14 
9Alex Carver  
10Joel Stearnes  
11Eric Sheppard  
12Patrick Lane0:02:30 
13Thomas Palmer0:06:09 
14James Boal0:08:47 
15Lachlan Ambrose  
16Blair Windsor0:14:04 
DNFAaron Donnelly  
DNFNick Aitken  
DNFEdward Bissaker  
DNFMichael Baker  
DNFBenjamin Hill  
DNFKane Walker  
DNFDanny Pulbrook  
DNFStephen Bomball  
DNFAndrew Christie  
DNFOliver Kent-Spark  
DNFCallum Fagg  
DNFCampbell Flakemore  
DNFNathan Elliot  
DNFVaughn Allan  
DNFPeter Braunsteins  
DNFBrendan J Cole  
DNFSteven Del Gallo  
DNFBen Dyball  
DNFAaron Eynaud  
DNFLuke Fetch  
DNFJoel Finucane  
DNFCallum Fryer  
DNFPhillip Grenfell  
DNFJames Herd  
DNFBen Hilleard  
DNFBlake Hose  
DNFJonathan Lovelock  
DNFBrian Mcleod  
DNFScott Mcphee  
DNFTrent Morey  
DNFShannon O'Brien  
DNFAllan Satchell  
DNFMerlin Spranz  
DNFJosh Taylor  
DNFBrodie Talbot  
DNFDavid Abraham  
DNFCameron Bayly  
DNFMatthew Benson  
DNFTimothy Cameron  
DNFJulian Hamill  
DNSJamie Crass  
DNSReuben Donati  
DNSJames Quinton  


Related Articles

Back to top