McConneloug holds off Anthony to win Cycle-Smart International

Barensfeld takes third

In the women’s race, Mary McConneloug (Team Kenda/Seven/Notubes)and Crystal Anthony ( were in a league of their own, establishing a sizable gap over the rest of the field in the first lap. They went on to finish first and second with Anna Barensfield ( taking third.

McConneloug and Anthony traded the lead ahead of a solo chasing Barensfeld for most of the race and just when it looked like a sprint finish was imminent, Anthony dropped her chain with two laps remaining. It was this little mistake that would give McConneloug the small gap she needed to win.

Anthony charged hard for the last lap and it looked like she might overtake McConneloug, but in the end McConneloug’s flawless performance brought her to the line one second ahead of Anthony and another 50 seconds ahead of Barensfeld.

“I was able to just make up a few seconds here and there,” said McConneloug of her race, “and that’s what cyclo-cross is all about.”

Full Results
1Mary McConneloug (USA) Team Kenda/Seven/Notubes0:39:52 
2Crystal Anthony (USA) Cyclocrossworld.com0:00:01 
3Anna Barensfeld (USA) pedalpowertraining.com0:00:50 
4Évelyne Blouin (Can) Ride With Rendall0:01:11 
5Jenny Ives (USA) Favata TRT-Unovelo cross team0:01:22 
6Sally Annis (USA) pedalpowertraining.com0:01:27 
7Cassandra Maximenko (USA) Silverbull targettraining  
8Frances Morrison (USA) J.A.M. Fund/NCC  
9Natasha Elliott (Can) The Cyclery0:01:31 
10Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes0:01:50 
11Brittlee Bowman (USA) pedalpowertraining.com0:01:54 
12Catherine Sterling (USA)  
13Christina Birch (USA) JAM/NCC/Vittoria0:02:24 
14Kathleen Lysakowski (USA) Cycle Lodge0:02:33 
15Ellen Noble (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:02:37 
16Molly Hurford (USA) Colavita/Espn-W0:02:41 
17Stacey Barbossa (USA) Colavita/espnW NJ0:02:42 
18Lori Cooke (USA) Cycle Lodge0:03:21 
19Marian Jamison (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:03:26 
20Nancy Labbe-Giguere (Can) LadiesFirst Racing0:03:31 
21Bailey Semian (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA0:03:36 
22Elizabeth Lukowski (USA) p/b VOmax0:03:38 
23Christina Tamilio (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:03:39 
24Vickie Monahan (USA) Expo Wheelmen0:03:40 
25Kathleen Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes0:03:41 
26Karin Holmes (USA) Riverside Racing  
27Joanne Grogan (USA) Cyclocrossracing.com0:04:03 
28Lauri Webber (USA) Wooden Wheels Racing  
29Deirdre Smith (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco0:04:54 
30Erica Yozell Miller (USA) South Mountain Cycles0:05:02 
31Giulia Righi (Ita) Central Wheel0:05:04 
32Cait Dooley (USA) Geekhouse Bikes0:05:08 
33Jocelyn Mauldin (USA) NEBC p/b Cycle Loft0:05:26 
34Lauren Kling (USA) New England Athletic Cyclocross0:08:13 
Back to top