TechPowered By

More tech

Basso wins Japan Cup

Cycling News

Italian beats Dan Martin in sprint

Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale) outsprints Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp) to win the Japan Cup.

Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale) outsprints Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp) to win the Japan Cup.

view thumbnail gallery

Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale) won the Japan Cup after out-sprinting Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp) in a spirited race in Utsunomiya.

The initial Liquigas tactic was to set up the sprint for Peter Sagan, and the squad was prominent in pegging back a determined break featuring Simon Clarke (Orica-GreenEdge) on the final two laps of the race.

With 20 kilometres to go, however, Dan Martin threw the cat among the pigeons by attacking fiercely on the main climb, with Basso, Rafal Majka (Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) and Julian David Arredondo (Team Nippo) eventually bridging across.

The quartet collaborated smoothly thereafter and on the final lap it was clear that they would fight it out for the win. Martin again forced the pace the final time up the climb, and then attacked in the finale. Basso was smartly across to his wheel, however, and just edged the Irishman out in the sprint to claim victory as Liquigas leaves the professional peloton.

“It’s a win that I really wanted and it’s quite emotional,” Basso said. “The whole team wanted to honour this race for the significance it carried, it’s a sort of thanks to Liquigas for the passion they brought to cycling.”

For Basso himself, the Japan Cup carries a certain personal resonance. In 2008, he made his comeback from suspension at the Japan Cup, his first race in the colours of Liquigas. Basso was on the sidelines for 18 months after he admitted that he had “planned to blood dope” under the supervision of Dr. Eufemiano Fuentes.

“Coming back to Japan four years after my start with Liquigas and winning on their farewell to cycling is something special, I can’t explain it. We’re all very happy. The warmth of the people was fantastic and today is a festive day for everyone."

Full Results
1 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 4:01:58  
2 Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin - Sharp    
3 Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
4 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Team Nippo    
5 Christian Meier (Can) Orica GreenEdge 0:00:46  
6 Miyataka Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 0:00:59  
7 Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica GreenEdge    
8 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Garmin - Sharp 0:01:38  
9 Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team 0:01:39  
10 Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin - Sharp    
11 Masahiro Shinagawa (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team    
12 Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team    
13 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
14 Tomoyuki Iino (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen    
15 Francois Parisien (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10    
16 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Orica GreenEdge    
17 Jaroslaw Marycz (Pol) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
18 Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen 0:01:41  
19 Mark O'Brien (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts    
20 Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team    
21 Masaru Fukuhara (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen    
22 Brian Vandborg (Den) Team Spidertech p/b C10 0:01:45  
23 Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 0:06:03  
24 Ryoma Nonaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team    
25 Luis Enrique Davila (Mex) Jelly Belly Cycling 0:06:07  
26 Alex Hagman (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling 0:06:09  
27 Yuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team    
28 Ryan Roth (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10 0:06:11  
29 Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
30 Nic Hamlton (Can) Jelly Belly Cycling    
31 Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team 0:06:15  
32 Kazuo Inoue (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 0:09:09  
33 Ryohei Komori (Jpn) Team Nippo    
34 Ki Seok Lee (Kor) Korea 0:10:08  
35 Sho Hatsuyama (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen    
36 Makoto Nakamura (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen    
37 Yasuharu Nakajima (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team    
38 Takayuki Abe (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team    
39 Michael Cupitt (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts 0:12:44  
DNF Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) Orica GreenEdge    
DNF Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale    
DNF Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
DNF Kenji Itami (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor    
DNF Hayato Yoshida (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor    
DNF Kenichi Suzuki (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team    
DNF Kohei Uchima (Jpn) Team Nippo    
DNF Kazushige Kuboki (Jpn) Matrix Powertag    
DNF Sam Witmitz (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts    
DNF Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) Terengganu Cycling Team    
DNF Julian Dean (NZl) Orica GreenEdge    
DNF Junya Sano (Jpn) Team Nippo    
DNF Mads Christensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
DNF Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin - Sharp    
DNF Ryan Anderson (Can) Team Spidertech p/b C10    
DNF Charles Bradley Huff (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling    
DNF Hideto Nakane (Jpn) Team Nippo    
DNF Keisuke Nakao (Jpn) Japan    
DNF Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Japan    
DNF Joon-Wo Kim (Kor) Korea    
DNF Juraj Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale    
DNF Thomas Scully (NZl) Garmin - Sharp    
DNF Wataru Mutsumine (Jpn) Japan    
DNF Sung-Ho Lee (Kor) Korea    
DNF Luke Ockerby (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts    
DNF Luke Davison (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts    
DNF Sang-Hong Park (Kor) Korea    
DNF Sang-Hong Park (Kor) Korea    
DNF Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale