Nizzolo wins GP Gippingen

Italian out-sprints Pasqualon, Tanner

Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) carried the strong form that led to his overall points classification victory in the Giro d'Italia over to Switzerland, where he won the GP Gippingen today. Nizzolo beat Team Roth's Andrea Pasqualon and Australian David Tanner (IAM Cycling) to the line.

Also known as the GP Kanton Aargau or GP du canton d'Argovie, the 188.7km race consisted of 10 undulating local circuits with a short but difficult uphill finish. Trek-Segafredo took responsibility for controlling a 14-man breakaway that escaped early on, keeping them at a reasonable distance so that Nizzolo could contend for the victory.

"I am happy, we came here for the win, and we managed to do it. This is a team victory - all the guys did a great job all day," Nizzolo said.

"It was very fast from the start with 14 up the road," explained Nizzolo. "We took responsibility, and all the guys pulled. The team did a fantastic job for me today; I have to give them a big thanks."

The breakaway was reeled in on the final lap, but it was a bit too soon, and another group escaped, and Nizzolo was quick to jump on it.

"In the last two laps the speed was even higher," Nizzolo continued. "When the break was caught on the last lap, I went with the counter on the climb, but the bunch came back with five or six kilometers to go.

"When we were caught I moved up again, and I still had power left for the uphill sprint. I am happy, we came here for the win, and we managed to do it. This is a team victory - all the guys did a great job all day."


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo4:08:38 
2Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Team Roth  
3David Tanner (Aus) IAM Cycling  
4Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Dimension Data  
5Matti Breschel (Den) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
6Zakkari Dempster (Aus) Bora-Argon 18  
7Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den) Orica-GreenEdge  
8Silvan Dillier (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
9Gaetan Bille (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
10Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Team Katusha  
11Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
12Clement Koretzky (Fra) Team Vorarlberg  
13Tim Declercq (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
14Alexander Kolobnev (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
15Thierry Hupond (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
16Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica-GreenEdge  
17Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Stölting Service Group  
18Patrick Müller (Swi) Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
19Amets Txurruka (Spa) Orica-GreenEdge  
20Rui Costa (Por) Lampre - Merida  
21Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
22Sven Erik Bystrøm (Nor) Team Katusha  
23Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
24Natnael Berhane (Eri) Dimension Data  
25Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
26Cyrille Thiery (Swi) Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
27Dries Van Gestel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
28Elliot Lietaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
29Nico Denz (Ger) AG2R La Mondiale  
30Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
31José Mendes (Por) Bora-Argon 18  
32Martin Elmiger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
33Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
34Sergio Ferreira De Sousa (Por) Team Vorarlberg  
35Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling  
36Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Dimension Data  
37Matvey Mamykin (Rus) Team Katusha  
38Matthias Reutimann (Swi) Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
39Tier Floris De (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
40Silvio Herklotz (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
41Nino Schurter Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
42Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
43Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team  
44Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
45Artem Nych (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
46Kilian Frankiny (Swi) Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
47Quentin Jauregui (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
48Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:00:13 
49Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team0:00:15 
50Simon Pellaud (Swi) IAM Cycling0:00:19 
51Lawrence Warbasse (USA) IAM Cycling0:00:24 
52Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) IAM Cycling  
53Sergey Nikolaev (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:00:27 
54Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:00:30 
55Marco Marcato (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:00:57 
56Scott Thwaites (GBr) Bora-Argon 18  
57Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
58Pirmin Lang (Swi) IAM Cycling0:01:35 
59Otto Vergaerde (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:01:48 
60Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Astana Pro Team  
61Alex Kirsch (Lux) Stölting Service Group  
62Merhawi Kudus (Eri) Dimension Data  
63Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
64Kiel Reijnen (USA) Trek-Segafredo  
65Davide Vigano (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
66Ildar Arslanov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
67Stefan Kueng (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
68Thery Schir (Swi) Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
69Manuel Senni (Ita) BMC Racing Team  
70Boris Dron (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
71Lars Boom (Ned) Astana Pro Team  
72Jay Robert Thomson (RSA) Dimension Data0:03:49 
73Quentin Pacher (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM0:05:19 
74François Bidard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:06:35 
75Roman Maikin (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:06:56 
76Dmitrii Kozonchuk (Rus) Team Katusha  
77Michael Reihs (Den) Stölting Service Group  
78Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Roth  
79Jesse Sergent (NZl) AG2R La Mondiale  
80Patrick Schelling (Swi) Team Vorarlberg  
81Aimé De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
82Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Lampre - Merida  
83Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Lampre - Merida  
84Sergey Lagutin (Rus) Team Katusha  
85Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - Merida  
86Evaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) Delko Marseille Provence KTM  
87Nils Politt (Ger) Team Katusha0:12:48 
88Nicolas Winter (Swi) Team Vorarlberg  
89Lukas Flückiger (Swi) Swiss Cycling Nationalmannschaft  
90Christian Mager (Ger) Stölting Service Group  
91Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
92Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
93Vladimir Isaychev (Rus) Team Katusha0:21:59 
94Michael Kucher (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
95Igor Boev (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
96Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre - Merida  
97Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre - Merida  
98Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec  
99Bruno Pires (Por) Team Roth  
100Martin Kohler (Swi) Team Roth  
101Mark McNally (GBr) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
102Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Dimension Data  
Back to top