Kaess and Kaufmann win stage 1 of Andalucia Bike Race

Villar and Pacios celebrate victory in women's category

Three teams fought for the victory in a sprint finish at the end of the first stage of the Andalucia Bike Race. The Centurion-Vaude team took top honors with German Jochen Kaess and Markus Kaufmann. Polish riders Wawak and Brzozka (JBG) took second with Robert Mennen and Kristian Hynek (Topeak Ergon) in third.

The first stage covered 60.4km with 1872m of climbing.

Ex-national champion Alejandro Díaz de la Peña and his teammate Pedro Romero were the best placed Spaniards in fourth. They could not contest the sprint due to a problem with Diaz's front brake.

Upon finishing, stage winner Kaufmann said, "There are four strong teams on top, so everything will be very tight."

Among the women, Spaniard Anna Villar and Mercé Pacios clinched victory, ahead of Sandra Santanyes and Claudia Galicia (Polar Racing Team).

Two-time Andalucia Bike Race women's winner Milena Landtwing was first in the mixed category with her teammate Philipp Gerber.

Tomorrow's stage 2 will take the participants in the opposite direction, south, towards the mountain range that wraps the city of Jaén. It will be a slightly shorter stage than the first, with similar amounts of climbing but much more singletrack.

Brief Results

Men stage 1 and general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jochen Kaess and Markus Kaufmann (Centurion Vaude)2:38:56 
2Bartlomiej Wawak and Adrian Brzozka (JBG-2)  
3Robert Mennen and Kristian Hynek (Topeak Ergon)  
4Pedro Romero and Alejandro Diaz (Extremadura 2)0:00:14 
5Sherman Trezza de Paeiva and Henrique Avancini (Caloi)0:04:07 
6Juan Pedro Trujillo and Francisco Perez (Mondraker)0:05:28 
7Pablo Bravo and Milton Ramos (Castellana)0:06:07 
8Matthias Stirnemann and Mathias Fluekiger (Stockli Pro Team)0:06:19 
9Francesco Guerra and Jose Maria Sanchez (Scott Team 1)0:06:23 
10Jose LUis Carrasco and Manuel Beltran (Sportbike Emotion)0:08:26 
Women stage 1 and general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Villar and Merce Pacios (Tomas Belles-Cannondale)3:28:08 
2Sandra Santanyes and Claudio Galaicia (Polar Women)0:07:32 
3Susana Alonso and Muriel Bouhet (Extremadura1)0:11:59 
4Ivonne Kraft and Celina Carpinteiro (Bike Magazine Portugal)0:12:36 
5Myriam Guillot and Eva Nystrom (Thule Adventure)0:20:38 
6Nuria Espinosa and Rocio Martin (BG Powerbar)0:25:01 
7Mar Franco and Sandra Jorda (Solo Bici)0:28:33 
8Rachel Sokal and Rickie Cotter (Leisure Lakes)0:36:17 
9Anna Cipullo and Agata Tamulewicz-Downey (Bikesoup.com)1:10:05 
10Valerie Casteleyn and Laurence Lampeart (Wacky Angels)2:49:15 
Mixed stage 1 and general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Philipp Gerber and Milena Landtwing (Wheeler-Bixs)3:07:06 
2Kristin Aamodt and Daniel Jung (Mountain Heros)0:20:12 
3Jordi Quintanas and Teresa Costa (Garrotxa)0:22:50 
4Danielle Troesch and Olivier Guth (Batibois-Mountain)0:30:44 
5Deroo Mieke and Luca Wesley (Beernem Trust)0:33:50 
Back to top