The countdown is on to the inaugural Santos North Western Tour

Australia's National Road Series about to resume

The build up to the inaugural Santos North Western Tour continues with final preparations taking place in the lead up to the tour's commencement on June 21st, 2012. Leading men's and women's teams will battle it out through the regional centers of NSW in the third event of this year's Subaru National Road Series.

The Santos North Western Tour will be a major event in the region, showcasing centres Narrabri, Coonabarabran, Gunnedah, Tamworth and landmarks such as the ANU Siding Spring Observatory which will host a grueling mountain top finish to Stage 3.

Race Director, Kurt Polock, is excited about the upcoming event saying, "The Santos North Western Tour will be an iconic event on the NSW calendar for many years to come. With the overwhelming support given by major sponsors Santos and the six local councils, the tour will be able to showcase the beautiful regional centers of North Western NSW" he said.

The tour will feature a Prologue and Criterium in the town centre of Narrabri before the iconic Coonabarabran to ANU Siding Spring Observatory stage on Friday. Racing will then take place separately to the historic Keegan Downes Memorial Sundowner Handicap and Gunnedah to Tamworth events, also taking place over the same weekend.

2011 men's National Road Series team champions Genesys Wealth Advisors are set to headline the inaugural tour which will incorporate 5 stages of racing over 4 days. Looking to pick up an upset victory over last year's National Road Series champions is former Commonwealth Games gold medalist and Racing Kangaroos team leader, Ben Kersten.

"We're excited to be racing in this inaugural event, the Racing Kangaroos has a lot of young talent on offer; I think we're a good shot at a couple of stage wins" he said. "I like what the tour is offering; to have a prologue, criterium and 3 road stages in an NRS event is quite unique," he added.

The Santos North Western Tour offers Subaru National Road Series points for both men's and women's team. Women's competition leader Lisa Jacobs (Jayco/ Apollo VIS Women's Road Team) highlights the women's field which also includes Velo Battle of the Border winner and former Australian champion, Ruth Corset (Pensar-Hawk Racing).

The next event on the NRS calendar is the Tour of Toowoomba, which begins June 14.

Related Articles

Back to top