TechPowered By

More tech

Shogren, Schalk clinch 100-miler series titles

Sue George, Mountain Bike Editor
September 22, 2009, 17:40 BST,
September 22, 2009, 18:46 BST
MTB News & Racing Round-up, September 22, 2009
National Ultra Endurance (NUE) Series #7: Shenandoah Mountain 100
NACT series leader Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry)

NACT series leader Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry)

view thumbnail gallery

National Ultra Endurance (NUE) final results tallied

Betsy Shogren (Cannondale Factory Racing) and Jeff Schalk (Trek Racing Co-op) took top women's and men's honors in the 2009 US National Ultra Endurance (NUE) series, which concluded with its eighth and final race at the Tahoe-Sierra 100 on September 12. The best four of each racer's results were used to calculate the standings. Eight races comprised the series, which commenced at the Cohutta 100 on April 25 and visited Tennessee, Ohio, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Colorado, Georgia and California.

Shogren completed six 100-milers, winning at the Lumberjack, Mohican and Fool's Gold. A second place at the Shenandoah Mountain 100 netted her the overall win. She also raced to third at the Wilderness 101 and fourth at the Cohutta.

Shogren beat Karen Potter ( and 2007 series runner-up Danielle Musto (Kenda/Tomac/Hayes), who were second and third respectively in the overall. Both completed five total races and while neither took any 100-miler race wins, consistency in placing in the top six at each race paid off.

In the men's series, Jeff Schalk defended his NUE title by racing at six events. His top four finishes included wins at the Cohutta, Lumberjack and Wilderness plus a second place in Breckenridge.

Christain Tanguy (Team Fraser/ Cannondale) started the season slower with a ninth place at the Cohutta, but he just got faster as the season progressed. He finished six total races, including a victory at the Fool's Gold and second places at the Wilderness, Mohican and Shenandoah rounds.

2007 NUE series winner and soon-to-be retired Chris Eatough (Trek Racing Co-op) finished third overall thanks to three third places (Fool's Gold, Wilderness and Lumberjack) and a fourth at Cohutta.

Gerald Pflug (Speedgoat/SPK) won the singlespeed series with four wins, giving him the best possible score. He had the series locked up early enough that he skipped the singlespeed race at the penultimate round at the Shenandoah and raced with gears instead.

In the master's category, John Williams (Bike Line of Newark) won two races and logged a second and a third to take home the NUE title.

Final standings are below for all who finished four or more races.


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Betsy Shogren (Cannondale Factory Racing) 5  pts
2 Karen Potter ( 11  
3 Danielle Musto (Kenda/Tomac/Hayes) 15  
4 Brenda Simril (Motor Mile Racing) 18  
5 Laureen Coffelt (RB's cyclery) 24  
6 Denelle Grant (Bike Factory Racing / Gary Fisher 29er) 27  
7 Emily Brock (Faster Mustache) 33  
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Jeff Schalk (Trek Racing Co-op) 5  pts
2 Christian Tanguy (Team Fraser/ Cannondale) 7  
3 Chris Eatough (Trek Racing Co-op) 13  
4 Michael Simonson (Gary Fisher 29er crew) 19  
5 Josh Tostado (Bach Builders) 24  
6 Rob Lichtenwalner ( 31  
7 Greg Kuhn (Team Fraser) 35  
8 Garth Prosser (Cannondale) 38  
9 Andrew Gorski (Speedgoat / SPK / Salsa) 46  
10 Aaron Oakes (Bulldog/Cyclecraft) 51  
11 Andy Applegate (Champion systems/Cannondale) 69  
12 Ryan Heerschap (Team Bulldog/Cycle Craft) 114  
13 Justin Farmer (JF2R/Bicycle World Rgv/Clif Bar) 134  
14 Kristofer Karwisch (Biowheels/Reece-Campbell) 137  
15 Bradley Schmalzer (Team Bikeman.Com/Twin Six/Denda) 152  
16 Lee Simril (Motor Mile Racing) 178  
17 Christian Baks (Pawling Cycles) 182  
18 Doug Milliken (Team Latitude/ARBT) 215  
19 Mac Johansen (Blue Sky Velo) 221  
20 Martin Kozera 266  
21 Vincent Schultz 359  
22 Jason Mahokey (Pro Bikes/salsa Cycles/twin-Six/ 386  
23 Jeff Plassman (Margaret) 386  
24 Timothy Koch (Gripped Racing) 406  
25 John Griffiths (NYCMTB-Peak Bikes) 503  
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Gerald Pflug (Speedgoat/SPK) 4  pts
2 Roger Masse (Tiek Racing Coop) 10  
3 Matthew Ferrari (Freeze Thaw Cycles) 11  
4 Gunnar Shogren (Cannondale Factory Racing) 18  
5 Mark Elsasser (Independent Fabrication) 30  
6 Ronald Sanborn (Mclaw's Cycle & Fitness) 30  
7 Russel Henderson (NCCX /Industry Nine) 34  
8 Jason Morgan (I9) 37  
9 Nathan Kraxberger (Sid's-Cannondale) 38  
10 Dave Holmes (Gary Fisher 29er Crew) 42  
11 Brad Wagner (Team Afd) 100  
Master men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 John Williams (Bike Line of Newark, Delaware) 7  pts
2 David Kelnberger (Fisher 29er Crew) 10  
3 James Wilson (Human Zoom) 22  
4 John Wyrick (Bio Wheels) 25  
5 Ed McCalley (Bike Zoo /Team Ed) 35  
6 Mathew Davies (Hudson Valley Velo Club) 42  

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Back to top