Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol 2016

Latest News from the Race

2016 Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol Race Overview

For the record, Andalucia is also, rather confusingly, is known as the Ruta del Sol after the Vuelta a Andalucia stopped in the mid-1970s.

However, the Vuelta a Andalucia re-started in 1986 and simultaneously it adopted the name Ruta del Sol. The Ruta del Sol was until 1986 a separate race which had been running since 1978 and which up until Andalucia’s organisers acquisition of the title rights, had covered the neighbouring regions of Valencia and Murcia as well. Since 1986, the routes of the Vuelta a Andalucia-Ruta del Sol, to give it its full title, remain solely within the region of Andalucia.

2016 Route

Wednesday February 17, Stage 1: Almonaster la Real - Sevilla 165.2kms

Thursday February 18, Stage 2: Palomares del Rio - Cordoba 186.3kms

Friday February 19, Stage 3: Monachil - Padul 157.9kms

Saturday February 20, Stage 4: Alhaurin de la Torre (individual time trial) 21kilometres

Sunday February 21, Stage 5: San Roque - Peñas Blancas 164.2 kilometes

Top News on the Race

Related Features