Irmiger wins Missoula US Pro XCT

Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek) raced to victory in round four of the US Pro XCT in Missoula, Montana on Saturday afternoon. Fresh off her third place finish at US Nationals last weekend in Sun Valley, Irmiger beat runner-up Pua Mata (Sho-Air) by 1:25 and third place finisher Chloe Woodruff (Crankbrothers Race Club) by 4:03.

Irmiger led from the gun and never looked back as she raced four laps around the 4.4km course on a hot day in dry conditions. She also wowed spectators by taking the infamous A-line jump, gaining valuable seconds on each lap over those who had to opt for the longer, gentler B-line singletrack.

Woodruff rode much of the race in second place and was chased by Mata. However, once Woodruff had to stop in the pit for tech assistance, Mata caught and passed her. Mata rode in second place for the duration while Woodruff finished third - her best ever US Pro XCT result thus far.

Judy Freeman and Evelyn Dong battled head-to-head for fourth place. The two rode together much of the race and were well matched. Freeman was descending slightly faster and given that the race finished with more downhill, that made the difference in the end. Freeman finished 11 seconds in front of Dong.

In contrast to 2011, when none of the elite women rode the A-line jump, three did so this time around. In addition to Irmiger, U23 racer Deidre York (The Gear Movement/Epic Pro Cycling) also nailed the jump as did Lizzy English (Giant).

With her second place finish, Mata held onto her lead in the US Pro XCT while Irmiger moved up into third, thanks to her winning points. Erin Huck (Tokyo Joes) is in third spot.

The US Pro XCT final round will happen at the Subaru Cup in Wisconsin in late August.

Race note

For her victory, Irmiger was awarded a unique trophy: a huge a rack (antlers).

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru/Trek1:17:18
2Pua Mata (USA) Sho-Air0:01:25
3Chloe Woodruff (USA) Crankbrothers Race Club0:04:03
4Judy Freeman (USA)0:05:37
5Evelyn Dong (USA)0:05:48
6Rose Grant (USA) Sportsman and Ski Haus0:06:31
7Erin Huck (USA) Tokyo Jones0:06:54
8Krista Park (USA) Cannondale/NoTubes0:07:08
9Rebecca Gross (USA) Tough Girl Cycling0:07:57
10Nina Baum (USA)0:08:18
11Heidi Rentz (USA)0:08:25
12Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) Luna0:08:49
13Zephanie Blasi (USA) WXC World Racing0:10:14
14Deidre York (USA) The Gear Movement/Epic Pro Cycling0:10:34
15Elisa Otter (USA) Southern Express0:11:10
16Elizabeth English (USA)0:12:31
17Jamie Busch (USA) Calmar/Quadzilla Racing0:14:11
18Sage Wilderman (USA) Kenda/Felt0:14:18
19Katherine O'Shea (Aus) Torq Nutrition0:15:32
20Sarah Sturm (USA) Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory/Devo0:16:26
21Bryna Blanchard (USA) Windham Mountain Cycling Club0:17:33
22Shannon Gibson (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite Women's Team0:18:57
23Lauren Catlin (USA) Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory/Devo0:19:06
24Shannon Holden (USA) Vanderkitten Focus/Vanderkitten0:24:30
-1lapAlicia Rose Pastore (USA) BMC Mountain Bike Development TeamRow 24 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.

Latest on Cyclingnews