Skip to main content
Live coverage

GP Bruno Beghelli – Live coverage

(Image credit:



Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the GP Bruno Beghelli!

The trio of Stepan Kurianov (Gazprom-RusVelo), Tommaso Fiaschi (Beltrami TSA-Hopplà-Petroli Firenze), Emil Dima (Giotti Victoria-Palomar) got away early on and enjoyed a gap of almost 11 minutes at one point.

119km remaining from 199km

Earlier on today, the women's race was run. It featured six laps of the Monteveglio circuit and measured in at just 79km. Marta Bastianelli (Italy National Team) took the win in a sprint finish. Read our report here.

The riders are inside the final 100km now, and the gap is down under six minutes.

After Álvaro Hodeg's brutal crash at the Tour de l'Eurométropole on Saturday, Matteo Trentin has called for the barriers used at the race to be banned. The protruding foot style barriers have been to blame for a number of crashes over the years but are still in widespread usage.

The breakaway's advantage is steadily falling. It's down to 4:30 with 91km to race.

Six laps and 80km to go now. The gap is down to 3:55.

Bahrain-Merida and UAE Team Emirates lead the peloton.

Fiaschi has been dropped by Kuriyanov and Dima on the climb. Just two left up front now.

Five laps to go now and the Kuriyanov-Dima break is 2:25 up on the peloton.

61km remaining from 199km

53km remaining from 199km

And the break is caught. There's 40km left to race and the peloton is made up of around 80 riders.

George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma), Iván Sosa (Team Ineos) and Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo) have attacked the peloton and have a small gap.

Neilson Powless (Jumbo-Visma), Edoardo Affini (Mitchelton-Scott), Hugo Houle (Astana) and Gianni Moscon (Team Ineos) are also on the attack.

25km remaining from 199km

Egan Bernal (Team Ineos) has abandoned the race

The attackers are brought back

20km remaining from 199km

A larger group is trying to get away now.

Moscon, Powless, Bennett and Houle try again.

14km remaining from 199km

Guillaume Martin (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) makes a move.

5km remaining from 199km

Attack by several riders, including Martin, Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott), Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), Davide Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ), Ivan Garcia Cortina and Sonny Colbrelli (both Bahrain-Merida).

3km remaining from 199km

Astana are working to try and catch the seven leaders.

2km remaining from 199km

Cortina is working on the front of the attack group, for teammate Colbrelli.

1km remaining from 199km

The peloton couldn't bring them back, and it's a sprint for the line!

And Colbrelli takes it! He outsprinted Valverde for the line.

Haig took third.

It is, of course, the second time that Colbrelli has triumphed at the race. Back in 2015 he won from a 37-man lead group.

Gaudu and Mollema were fourth and fifth at the line.

Here's a shot of Colbrelli crossing the line. He beat Valverde by some distance in the sprint.

Here's the top ten.

Here are the three podium finishers today.

Our full race report is up now. Check it out here.

That's all for our live coverage of the GP Bruno Beghelli!

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews