Van der Poel makes it 12 wins this season in Koppenbergcross

Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) continued his domination of the European 'cross circuit, taking out his 12th victory of the season in the Koppenbergcross. While his previous wins have been near start-to-finish solo attacks, this time the Dutchman was pushed to his limits by runner-up Toon Aerts (Telenet-Fidea) and third-placed Lars van der Haar.

Van der Poel attacked early in the race, but had repeated issues with his pedals, and was caught by Aerts, Van der Haar and world champion Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Charles). The quartet had a stalemate until Van der Haar made a move mid-race.

Van Aert buried himself to bring the Telenet-Fidea rider back, but then struggled on the cobbled ascent of the Koppenberg and was distanced from the others.

Van der Poel bided his time, only making his move in the last half lap, distancing the scrappy European champion, but the effort cost him and the Dutch champion collapsed after the finish line and still struggled to catch his breath in the post-race interview.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon1:07:49
2Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:12
3Lars van der Haar (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:24
4Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:01:14
5Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:01:29
6Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice0:01:30
7Corne van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:36
8Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:01:42
9Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:01:49
10Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Era Real Estate - Circus0:01:50
11Michael Boros (Cze) Pauwels Sauzen - VastgoedserviceRow 10 - Cell 2
12Daan Soete (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:54
13Tom Meeusen (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:02:38
14Tim Merlier (Bel) Crelan - Charles0:03:27
15Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles Race Team0:03:37
16Jonas Degroote (Bel) Team Mahieu - Kona - Vandermeeren0:03:57
17Joeri Adams (Bel) Kalas - H.Essers Cycling Team0:04:03
18Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Steylaerts-Betfirst0:04:17
19Gosse van der Meer (Ned) Tarteletto Isorex0:04:42
20Wietse Bosmans (Bel) Era Real Estate - Circus0:05:14
21Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Beobank Coredon0:05:50
22Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:06:06
23Nicolas Pruvost (Fra) Eseg Douai0:06:43
24Julien Kaise (Bel) T.Palm - Pôle Continental WallonRow 23 - Cell 2
25Andrew Juiliano (USA) Grit World Racing p/b ShimanoRow 24 - Cell 2
26Jelle De Bock (Bel) Arrow Cycling TeamRow 25 - Cell 2
27Pascal Colaert (Bel) Dovy Keukens - FCCRow 26 - Cell 2
28Yu Takenouchi (Jpn) ToyoframeRow 27 - Cell 2
29Michael Butler (GBr) Hargroves Cycles Ridley RTRow 28 - Cell 2
30Alexander Forrester (GBr) - Lazer HelmetsRow 29 - Cell 2
31Felix Fuentes Sanchez (Spa) Stecchino MTB ClubRow 30 - Cell 2
32Manuel Martin Jimenez (Spa) Stecchino MTB ClubRow 31 - Cell 2
DNFVincent Baestaens (Bel) VZW Koninklijke StoempersclubRow 32 - Cell 2
DNFDieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Napoleon Games Cycling TeamRow 33 - Cell 2
DNFRob Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen-VastgoedserviceRow 34 - Cell 2
DNFDiether Sweeck (Bel) Era Real Estate - CircusRow 35 - Cell 2
DNFJens Vandekinderen (Bel) Kalas - H.Essers Cycling TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
DNFDario Tielen (Bel)Row 37 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1