Vuelta a España: Which GC riders lost time on stage 3 summit finish

ESPINOSA DE LOS MONTEROS SPAIN AUGUST 16 LR Nathan Van Hooydonck of Belgium Primoz Roglic of Slovenia red leader jersey and Steven Kruijswijk of Netherlands and Team Jumbo Visma compete during the 76th Tour of Spain 2021 Stage 3 a 2028km stage from Santo Domingo de Silos to Espinosa de los Monteros Picn Blanco 1485m lavuelta LaVuelta21 CapitalMundialdelCiclismo on August 16 2021 in Espinosa de los Monteros Spain Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo MorenoGetty Images
Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) in the peloton during stage 3 of the Vuelta a España (Image credit: Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images)

Rein Taaramäe (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) may have won stage 3 and taken the lead on the first summit finish at this year's Vuelta a España but behind the Estonian the true overall contenders did battle on Picón Blanco with cracks appearing in a number or contenders and their chances over success in this year's race. 

Climbing for 7.6km at 9.3 per cent, and with the gradient almost doubling at certain points of the mountain, the final climb of the stage was a day for the climbers and GC contenders, and although there were few if any attacks from the pre-race favourites there was plenty of evidence to suggest which riders are not in top condition.

Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) finished the stage in seventh place 1:48 down on Taaramäe and the Slovenian had a mixed day.

Although he only lost three seconds to Enric Mas (Movistar) who kicked clear near the summit the Jumbo-Visma leader did have to climb most of the final few kilometres without any teammates after  Sepp Kuss, Sam Oomen and the rest of the Dutch team suffered with the gradient.

Roglič will be more than content to have lost the leader's jersey as it will allow his team to take a backseat for much of the first week, but there are legitimate questions over the form of the rest of his squad.

Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) barely showed his face near the front but he finished in the same time as Roglic. The Giro d'Italia winner had Adam Yates patrolling the front for most of the climb and the British climber matched several attacks but couldn't get a gap in the headwind.

It's wasn't a thoroughly convincing day for Ineos though with Olympic champion Richard Carapaz dropped once with 1.7km to go and then again inside the final few hundred meters. He lost a full minute to his main GC rivals, although his overall chances are still just about alive. 

Yates, Mikel Landa (Bahrain Victorious), Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo), and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) all finished at the same time as Roglič and Bernal with Fabio Aru (Qhubeka NextHash) less than ten seconds back. 

However, the rest of the GC names were cut adrift. David de la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates) lost another 12 seconds, while Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo) conceded 21 seconds at the line.

Romain Bardet (Team DSM) and Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech) were also losers on the stage, ceding 29 seconds. Meanwhile, Kuss finished 3:33 down to end his hopes of a high overall finish. 

In the overall standings Taaramäe now has a 25 second lead over breakaway companion Kenny Elissonde with Roglič in third at 30 seconds. Mas is the closet pre-race favourite to Roglič, 15 seconds off the Jumbo-Visma rider with Miguel Angel López, Valverde, Ciccone and Bernal all within 27 seconds of the defending champion.

Landa is 24 seconds off Roglič, while Vlasov dropped from being one of the Slovenian’s closest rivals to 12th overall at 1:13 off the race lead. Yates rose 40 places in the overall but after his time losses on the first two stages he’s still in 16th. Meanwhile, Carthy now finds himself over 1:30 down on Roglič while Carapaz is 1:45 back.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 3
1Rein Taaramäe (Est) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 9:25:44
2Kenny Elissonde (Fra) Trek-Segafredo0:0:25
3Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma0:0:30
4Lilian Calmejane (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team0:0:35
5Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team0:0:45
6Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team0:0:51
7Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:0:57
8Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-SegafredoRow 7 - Cell 2
9Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos GrenadiersRow 8 - Cell 2
10Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Bahrain Victorious0:01:09
12Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana-Premier Tech0:01:13
13Fabio Aru (Ita) Qhubeka NextHash0:01:14
14Romain Bardet (Fra) Team DSM0:01:16
15Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain Victorious0:01:20
16Adam Yates (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers0:01:21
24Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Education-Nippo0:02:02
27Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers0:02:15
29Louis Meintjes (RSA) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 0:02:16
30David de la Cruz (Spa) UAE Team Emirates0:02:17
34Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis0:02:30

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1