Vuelta a España: Standings at the 2021 race

MONFORTE DE LEMOS SPAIN SEPTEMBER 03 Magnus Cort Nielsen of Denmark and Team EF Education Nippo celebrates winning ahead of Quinn Simmons of United States and Team Trek Segafredo and Andrea Bagioli of Italy and Team Deceuninck QuickStep during the 76th Tour of Spain 2021 Stage 19 a 1912 km stage from Tapia to Monforte de Lemos lavuelta LaVuelta21 on September 03 2021 in Monforte de Lemos Spain Photo by Stuart FranklinGetty Images
(Image credit: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images)

After the Vuelta a España general classification battle of the last few days, stage 19 saw an enthralling battle between the breakaway and the peloton. Averaging speeds of over 40kph, the breakaway eluded the peloton’s clutches as Magnus Cort (EF Education-Nippo) took his third stage win of the race, while Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) retained the red jersey and the overall standings remain largely unchanged.

Louis Meintjes (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux), who began the day in tenth overall and had looked so strong on the Gamoniteiru, crashed on a seemingly innocuous stretch of road and was forced to abandon the race.

Other than Meintjes’ abandon, the overall standings did not change. The time gap opened up by Roglič over his rivals in the mountains remains the same; his closest rival, Enric Mas (Movistar Team) sits 2:30 back.

Movistar currently occupy both lower berths of the podium with Miguel Ángel López (Movistar Team) in third overall, a further 23 seconds behind Mas, his teammate. Like Roglič’s overall race lead, the Movistar duo have built their own comfortable buffer to protect their podium places since Jack Haig (Bahrain Victorious), in fourth overall at 4:36, lies nearly two minutes behind López.

Egan Bernal (Ineos-Grenadiers) sits just seven seconds behind Haig in fifth overall at 4:43 and his teammate Adam Yates is in sixth at 5:44.

Bahrain Victorious and Jumbo-Visma also have two representatives from their team in the top ten. Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma) remains in seventh at 6:02 while Gino Mäder (Bahrain Victorious) is in eighth at 7:48.

Guillaume Martin (Cofidis) retains his ninth place at 8:31 while, following Meintjes’ misfortune, David de la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates) accomplishes what his attack failed to do so yesterday and moves up a place into tenth overall at 9:24.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Stage 19 results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Magnus Cort (Den) EF Education-Nippo 4:24:54
2Rui Oliveira (Por) UAE Team Emirates
3Quinn Simmons (USA) Trek-Segafredo
4Andrea Bagioli (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep
5Anthony Roux (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
6Andreas Kron (Den) Lotto Soudal
7Lawson Craddock (USA) EF Education-Nippo 0:00:05
8Alberto Dainese (Ita) Team DSM 0:00:18
9Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
10Alexander Krieger (Ger) Alpecin-Fenix
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 19
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 77:49:37
2Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:30
3Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team 0:02:53
4Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious 0:04:36
5Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:04:43
6Adam Yates (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:05:44
7Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma 0:06:02
8Gino Mäder (Swi) Bahrain Victorious 0:07:48
9Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis 0:08:31
10David de la Cruz (Spa) UAE Team Emirates 0:09:24
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Points Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep 250
2Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 162
3Magnus Cort (Den) EF Education-Nippo 144
4Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 132
5Alberto Dainese (Ita) Team DSM 120
6Michael Matthews (Aus) Team BikeExchange 114
7Andrea Bagioli (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep 101
8Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 100
9Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team 92
10Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 91
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Mountains Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michael Storer (Aus) Team DSM 59
2Romain Bardet (Fra) Team DSM 54
3Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 48
4Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain Victorious 33
5Rafal Majka (Pol) UAE Team Emirates 33
6Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar Team 28
7Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious 23
8Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma 19
9Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 17
10Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 16
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Young Riders Classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 77:54:20
2Gino Mäder (Swi) Bahrain Victorious 0:03:05
3Juan Pedro Lopez Perez (Spa) Trek-Segafredo 0:13:20
4Rémy Rochas (Fra) Cofidis 0:34:31
5Clément Champoussin (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team 0:47:32
6Steff Cras (Bel) Lotto Soudal 1:05:55
7Jefferson Cepeda Ortiz (Ecu) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 1:23:09
8Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana-Premier Tech 1:33:13
9Gotzon Martin Sanz (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 1:36:16
10Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Ineos Grenadiers 1:38:23

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1