Vuelta a Cuba attracts five foreign teams

Set to begin in a just a few weeks, the 33rd Vuelta a Cuba has drawn five foreign teams for its 13 stages over 1,797 kilometers. The race is scheduled from February 5 to 17.

According to the Cuban News Agency ACN, the Venezuelan national team, the Perutnina Ptuj of Slovenia, Volvo of Germany and Tecos Uga and Canels-Turbo of Mexico will compete. Domestically, Cuba's national team and trade teams from the Manuel Fajardo Superior Institute of Physical Culture and from the Technical Center in Cienfuegos will also attend. They will be joined by almost a dozen provincial squads.

Last year's race was won by Canadian Svein Tuft riding for the Symmetrics Cycling Team. Pedro Pablo Perez was the top Cuban finisher riding for his national team.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1