Van Avermaet, Matthews to face off again in Digital Swiss 5

Race 4 of the Digital Swiss 5
(Image credit: Velon)

After a difficult race of climbing on day 3 where Nicolas Roche soloed to victory atop the simulation of Nufenen Pass, the Digital Swiss 5 returns to 'flatter ground' for race 4. 

There could be a re-match between Greg Van Avermaet (CCC Team) and Michael Matthews (Sunweb), who went head-to-head for the final podium spot behind winner Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) and Filippo Ganna (Ineos) on day 2.

The profile of race 4 includes two early climbs but a long, gradual 'descent' to the finish line. It will be a test of pure power and timing when to surge.

Küng returns with the Swiss National Team, while Kasper Asgreen leads the way for Deceuninck-Quickstep.

Roche and race 1 winner Rohan Dennis all have the day off, but Rally Cycling's Stephen Bassett and Matteo Dal-Cin return after top 10's on stage 2.

Race coverage begins at 7:10pm CET on Saturday.

Race 4 start list

AG2R La Mondiale: Silvan Dillier, Dorian Godon, Oliver Naesen

Bahrain McLaren: Grega Bole, Ivan Garcia Cortina, Jan Tratnik

Bora-Hansgrohe: Patrick Gamper, Martin Laas, Lukas Pöstleberger

CCC Team: Greg Van Avermaet, Gijs Van Hoecke, Nathan Van Hooydonck

Deceuninck - Quick-Step: Kasper Asgreen, Tim De Clercq, Zdenek Štybar

EF Pro Cycling: Sean Bennett, Magnus Cort, Jonas Rutsch

Groupama-FDJ: Bruno Armirail, Matthieu Ladagnous, Tobais Ludvigsson

Israel Start-Up Nation: Alexander Cataford, André Greipel, Guy Niv

Lotto Soudal: Jasper De Buyst, Nikolas Maes, Tosh Van Der Sande

Mitchelton-Scott: Jack Bauer, Daryl Impey, Chris Juul Jensen

Movistar Team: Gabriel Cullaigh, Johan Jacobs, Nelson Oliveira

NTT Pro Cycling: Edvald Boassen Hagen, Victor Campanaerts, Michael Gogl

Rally Cycling: Ryan Anderson, Stephen Bassett, Matteo Dal-Cin

Team Ineos: Ethan Hayter, Luke Rowe, Ben Swift

Team Jumbo-Visma: Tobias Foss, Amund Grøndahl Jansen, Paul Martens

Team Sunweb: Alberto Dainese, Nico Denz, Michael Matthews

Total Direct Energie: Pim Ligthart, Julien Simon, Anthony Turgis

Trek-Segafredo: Will Clarke, Charlie Quarterman, Toms Skujins

Swiss National Team: Michael Albasini, Stefan Küng, Claudio Imhof, 

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.