Skip to main content

USA Cycling names six to men's team for Worlds

BMC Racing's Brent Bookwalter, Tejay van Garderen and Joey Rosskopf will lead USA Cycling's six-rider Elite men's team at the UCI Road World Championships later this month in Bergen, Norway. Cannondale-Drapac's Nathan Brown and Alex Howes will join them on the start line, along with Kiel Reijnen from Trek-Segafredo.

"I am excited about this team," said Jim Miller, USA Cycling's vice president of high performance. "We have six motivated and committed guys, and we aren't traveling to Norway to sit in the peloton."

All six riders will compete in the road race, while Rosskopf and van Garderen will also contest the time trial.

Bookwalter was fourth overall this year at the Tour of California, while Brown wore the mountains jersey in the Tour de France for several days in July. Howes, who was the best-placed US rider in 2015 with 12th, recently won stages at the Colorado Classic and Tour of Utah, while van Garderen is currently 13th overall in the Vuelta a Espana. Rosskopf, the reigning US time trial champion, is currently racing at the Tour of Britain. Reijnen recent put in strong performances at Poitou Charentes and the Bretagne Classic.

With the addition of the six elite men, Team USA is now 29 riders strong heading into Bergen. Twenty-three athletes were named previously to the elite women's, U23 men's and women's, and junior men's and women's squads.

USA Cycling Elite Men's Team:
Brent Bookwalter (Asheville, NC/BMC Racing Team)
Nate Brown (Covington, Tenn./Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling)
Alex Howes (Boulder, Colo./Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling)
Keil Reijnen (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Trek-Segafredo)
Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga./BMC Racing Team)
Tejay van Garderen (Aspen, Colo./BMC Racing Team)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1