USA Cycling cancels road, MTB and track championships for 2020

Ruth Winder won stage 3 of the Women's Tour Down Under
(Image credit: Getty Images)

USA Cycling announced on Wednesday it has been forced to cancel all of the elite national championships for the 2020 season except for December's cyclo-cross championships except for the MTB Marathon, which has been postponed to November.

Current champions will be allowed to wear their national champion's jerseys through the 2021 event. Ruth Winder (Trek-Segafredo) and Alex Howes (EF Pro Cycling) won the elite road races last year in Knoxville, while Amber Neben and Ian Garrison (Deceuninck-Quickstep) won the time trials. Travis McCabe and Emma White won the criterium titles.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.