UCI confirms Wallonie-Bruxelles 2020 licence

Baptiste Planckaert with the sprint prize
(Image credit: Sirotti)

The UCI Licence Commission has confirmed the ProTeam (formerly Professional Continental) status for the Belgian squad Wallonie Bruxelles for 2020, the UCI announced on Friday.

In its previous announcement of the 2020 ProTeams and WorldTeams, the squad was listed as pending under the name Bingoal-WB. 

The team was the last to be registered of the WorldTeam, ProTeam and Women's WorldTeams for the coming season. Continental squads will be announced in January.

Wallonie Bruxelles named its final team for 2020 on Thursday, with eight new arrivals and 12 returning riders.

New riders include Jonas Castrique and Luc Wirtgen from the team's development squad, Roompot-Charles refugees Sean De Bie and Arjen Livijns, Jelle Vanendert (Lotto Soudal), Laurens Huys (Lotto Soudal U23), Boris Vallée (Wanty-Gobert) and Joel Suter from Akros-Thömus.

Returning riders Kevyn Ista, Eliot Lietaer, Kenny Molly, Julien Mortier, Aksel Mommela, Mathijs Paasschens, Dimitri Pyeskens, Baptiste Planckaert, Ludovic Robeet, Franklin Six, Lionel Taminiaux and Tom Wirtgen.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.