Tour du Limousin starts tomorrow

The 40th edition of the Tour du Limousin will start tomorrow in France, with all the French top teams in attendance as well as American outfit Slipstream.

The event, created in 1968, started out as an amateur event, but after seven years was opened to professionals as well. Bernard Hinault was one of the first famous winners, in 1976 and 1977. This is when its reputation started to take off. Subsequently other famous winners followed, including Marc Madiot (1981), Thierry Marie (1985), Charly Mottet (1987), Andrei Tchmil (1995), Laurent Brochard (1995) or Patrice Halgand (2000 et 2002). The race often sees a French winner, but last year it was the Colombian Léonardo Duque of Cofidis who took the honours.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1