Tour de France 2021: Stage 20 highlights - Video

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) won his second stage of this year’s Tour de France with the fastest time, 35:53, in the stage 20 individual time trial from Libourne to Saint-Emilion.

He was 21 seconds faster than, Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-QuickStep), who had gotten comfortable in the hot seat. Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) was the first rider to go nine minutes flat at the first time check and was almost 10 seconds faster there than Asgreen, but by the second time check at 20.1km to go was less than a second ahead and he would lose more time by the finish.

Van Aert had the best time at the first time check, then obliterated the best time at the second marker, and took a commanding lead to unseat Asgreen. Only Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) had a hot pace in the warm conditions to get top three times at the time checks to raise eyebrows, and he would finish third on the stage.

Race leader Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates), who won the first time trial of this year’s Tour, finished eighth so will hold his GC lead over Vingegaard, in second 5:30 back. Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) finished 23rd on the stage, but continues in third overall.

There were no major disruptions at the top of the GC standings from the time trial, but Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) did overtake Sergio Henao (Qhubeka-NextHash) for 20th overall.

Watch how stage 20 unfolded in the video highlights above.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.