RadioShack-Nissan selects preliminary Tour de France team

The Radioshack Nissan Trek team management made a pre-selection of 14 riders for the 2012 Tour de France, which is scheduled to start June 30 and end on July 22.

The selected riders include Fabian Cancellara, Jakob Fuglsang, Tony Gallopin, Linus Gerdemann, Markel Irizar, Andreas Klöden, Maxime Monfort, Yaroslav Popovych, Gregory Rast, Hayden Roulston, Andy Schleck, Fränk Schleck, Jens Voigt and Haimar Zubeldia.

Andy Schleck was recently named the 2010 Tour de France champion after Alberto Contador was disqualified per his doping ban. Cadel Evans is the defending Tour de France champion.

American Chris Horner, who had been hoping to make the team, was not selected.

The final roster of nine riders will be announced in the week of June 18.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1