Liquigas, Milram for Lombardy

As the day draws near for the final ProTour race of the year, the teams are finalizing their rosters. Liquigas and Milram have announced teams of eight to contest the "race of the falling leaves". For Liquigas, Leonardo Bertagnolli and Filippo Pozzato will lead the final Classic of the season along with Vincenzo Nibali, Manuel Quinziato, Manuel Beltrán, Dario Cataldo, Matej Mugerli and Alessandro Vanotti, with Stefano Zanatta and Mario Scirea in the team car.

"In spite of the long and difficult season, last week in Tours we gave signs of a good condition," said manager Zanatta. "I expect the race to be very exciting also for the characteristics of the race route. We want a great finale of a season full of successes, also to make a present to Danilo Di Luca who will not have the possibility to defend his leadership in the ProTour final ranking."

Milram will close the season out without its two sprint aces, Alessandro Petacchi and Erik Zabel, and instead count on Mirko Celestino to lead the team of Sergio Ghisalberti, Andrey Grivko, Alberto Ongarato, Fabio Sabatini, Carlo Scognamiglio, Marco Velo and Matej Jurco. Sport directors: Vittorio Algeri and Antonio Bevilacqua.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1