Skip to main content

Last year’s stage win spurs Pieters on in Ladies Tour of Qatar

Image 1 of 3

Amy Pieters (Liv-Plantur)

Amy Pieters (Liv-Plantur) (Image credit: Team Giant-Alpecin)
Image 2 of 3

Amy Pieters (Team Giant-Shimano) takes the win

Amy Pieters (Team Giant-Shimano) takes the win (Image credit: Tim de Waele/
Image 3 of 3

Amy Pieters (Giant-Shimano) took over the race lead

Amy Pieters (Giant-Shimano) took over the race lead (Image credit: ASO/B. Bade)

With Kirsten Wild concentrating on the track Amy Pieters (Liv-Plantur) lines up at the Ladies Tour of Qatar as the only rider to have won a stage in last year’s race.

“Maybe I have more chances now but we also have Lucy in the team and she’s a really strong sprinter. She can prove herself a lot because Kirsten is not here and she can make a big step this year. We’ve got some really strong young riders on the team and Lucy and are I are different types of sprinters.”

“First I really didn’t like cycling. Then a friend of mine started to get into it and I got suck in. I got an old helmet, some old shoes and a bike. My dad thought that I’d be done after just trying it once but I went from there. Cycling has been around me my whole life, watching my dad and my brother.”

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

 Daniel Benson is the Editor in Chief at both and Based in the UK, he has worked within cycling for almost 15 years, and he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he has reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he runs the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.