Hunter and Van Wyk left off South Africa worlds team

Robert Hunter (Barloworld)

Robert Hunter (Barloworld) (Image credit: Sirotti)

Robert Hunter (Team Barloworld) and Ronel Van Wyk (Team Konica Minolta) are two names not on the list of riders selected by South Africa for the team the nation is sending to the World Championships in Stuttgart, Germany, September 27-30. The federation announced its squad on its website August 24. No reason was given in the announcement for the omission of Hunter or Van Wyk.

Hunter became the first South African to win a Tour de France stage in July. He also finished second in the green jersey (sprint) competition. Van Wyk is the 2007 South African road race and time trial national champion.

South African National Team for the UCI World Road Championships
Elite Men: James Perry, Daryl Impey, Darren Lill, David George, Ian McLeod
U23 Men: Nolan Hoffmann, Jay Thomson, Jacques Janse Van Rensburg, Jacobus Venter
Elite Women: Marissa Van Der Merwe, Minette Naude, Yolandi Du Toit, Anriette Scuhoeman

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1