Giro d'Italia 2020 teams presented in front of ancient Segesta temple - Gallery

The 2020 Giro d'Italia presented the 22 teams that will compete in the rescheduled race from October 3 to October 25 at the ruins of the Temple of Segesa on a hill overlooking the Gulf of Castellammare on the island of Sicily.

The Grande Partenza was moved from Budapest in May to the island this month after the COVID-19 pandemic shut down racing from mid-March to late July.

A small, socially-distanced audience greeted the teams and the Trofeo Senza Fine in the shadows of the Doric columns as favourites Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers), Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) and the rest took turns climbing onto the stage.

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) makes his debut in the Italian Grand Tour, and greeted the spectators with enthusiasm.

Racing gets underway on Saturday with a 15.1km time trial from Monreal to Palermo followed by three stages on Sicily before the race heads to the mainland.

Click or swipe through the gallery above.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1