Giro d'Italia 2017 presentation brings together past champions - Gallery

RCS Sport presented the official route of the 2017 Giro d'Italia on October 25 at the luxurious Palazzo del Ghiaccio in Milan.

The 100th edition of the Italian Grand Tour brought together some of the past champions and stage winners: Miguel Indurain, Mario Cipollini, Felice Gimondi, Giuseppe Saronni, Francesco Moser, Ivan Basso, Fabio Aru and defending champion Vincenzo Nibali, among others.

As the crowd entered the venue, they were treated to a display of pink leader's jerseys worn by riders from previous editions of the Giro d'Italia.

The Grande Partenza will set things off in Sardinia on May 5 in Alghero with a lengthy 203km road race to Olbia, and the overall winner will be crowned three weeks later upon its conclusion following a flat 28km time trial to Milan on May 28.

View full route details, maps and profiles here. Click through the gallery of images from the official presentation above.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1