Skip to main content

Everest awards go Sawicki and Eatough

Monique Sawicki

Monique Sawicki (Image credit: Team MATA)

Chris Eatough and Monique Pua Sawicki were awarded as male and female mountain bikers of the year for the Everest awards at the Teva Games. The public submitted nominations online, and the winners were selected by an editorial committee.

27-year-old Monique Pua Sawicki (Team Ergon/Ellsworth) starting winning with the NORBA National series marathon title 2005 and then followed with the 24 hour solo national championships, and she's been winning ever since. She specializes in endurance events like marathons and 12 hour races.

Chris Eatough (Trek VW) is the six time 24 Hours of Adrenaline World Solo Champion and is currently leading the American National Ultra Endurance (NUE) series of 100 mile races.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.