Chris Froome wins Cyclingnews Rider of the Year in 2017 Reader Poll

When it comes to Cyclingnews' Rider of the Year, the voting is sometimes as much of a popularity contest as it is a reflection of a rider's results. This year, the two coincide with the selection of Team Sky's Chris Froome to the honour, who took 30 per cent of the vote. Triple world champion Peter Sagan took second place with 27 per cent of the votes and Giro d'Italia winner Tom Dumoulin rounded out the podium with 17 per cent. 

It's hard to argue against Froome winning this category, although he missed out on topping the rolling UCI rankings to Greg Van Avermaet, he cemented his place in history with back-to-back Grand Tour victories.

Froome not only became the first rider to win the Tour de France and Vuelta a España in the same year since the Spanish Grand Tour's move from April in 1995, he won two stages of the Vuelta and two bronze medals at the World Championships.

The Briton has also set himself on track to join record holders Bernard Hinault and Eddy Merckx in winning three consecutive Grand Tours when he starts the Giro d'Italia next May.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Chris Froome6096Votes
2Peter Sagan5529Row 1 - Cell 3
3Tom Dumoulin3478Row 2 - Cell 3
4Greg Van Avermaet1283Row 3 - Cell 3
5Michal Kwiatkoswki1094Row 4 - Cell 3
6Annamiek van Vleuten759Row 5 - Cell 3
7Anna van der Breggen614Row 6 - Cell 3
8Alejandro Valverde513Row 7 - Cell 3
9Philippe Gilbert488Row 8 - Cell 3
10Coryn Rivera289Row 9 - Cell 3
11Chantal Blaak157Row 10 - Cell 3
12Jolien D'Hoore46Row 11 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1