Skip to main content

Australian awards announce finalists

Cycling Australia has announced the finalists in the 2008 Cyclist of the Year Awards, which will be held at a gala celebration on Sunday, November 23. The night will culminate with the presentation of the Sir Hubert 'Oppy' Opperman Medal and Trophy to the 2008 Australian Cyclist of the Year.

In the category of male road cyclist of the year, the jury will choose between Cadel Evans, Simon Gerrans and Robbie McEwen. In the women's category, Rochelle Gilmore, Vicki Whitelaw and retiring Oenone Wood are the athletes chosen for the finale.

The complete list of finalists in the respective award categories can be found on the Cycling Australia website at

(With additional editorial assistance by Susan Westemeyer.)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1