2014 Cyclingnews Reader Poll: Omega Pharma-QuickStep voted best team

Omega Pharma-QuickStep have been voted best team of 2014 in the Cyclingnews Reader Poll. The Belgian team took more than a quarter of the votes, nearly 10 per cent more than their closest rivals BMC Racing and Movistar.

The team, which will be known as Etixx-QuickStep in 2015, claimed an astonishing 63 victories this season, the most of any team in the pro peloton. They may have lost two of their world titles this year but they added two more to replace them. Zdenek Stybar kicked off the team’s year with a win at the cyclo-cross World Championships, while Michal Kwiatkowski made it two rainbow jerseys with a victory in the road race in Ponferrada.

Among their other victories were Niki Terpstra’s solo flyer at Paris-Roubaix and Tony Martin’s two stage wins at the Tour de France. Mark Cavendish may have crashed out of the Tour de France but he still managed to notch up 11 wins in the Omega Pharma-QuickStep jersey plus some recent success on the track.

The Spring Classics will play another big role in the team’s ambitions for 2015, while Kwiatkowski and Rigoberto Uran will lead the way at the stage races. The world champion and his teammates Martin and Cavendish sent this short message for the thousands of fans who voted for them in the Cyclingnews Reader Poll.

To subscribe to the Cyclingnews video channel, click here


Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Omega Pharma QuickStep26.04%
2BMC Racing15.8%
4Tinkoff Saxo14.05%
5Orica GreenEdge8.41%
6Giant Shimano7.14%
7Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team5.36%
8AG2R La Mondiale3.73%
10Boels Dolmans0.86%

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1