Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Merckx and Valverde rivals for history books

From L Alessandro De Marchi BMC Racing Paolo Tiralongo Astana Nicolas Edet Cofidis and Jeremy Roy FDJ part of an eightmen leading group ride through the snow during the 102nd edition of the LiegeBastogneLiege one day cycling race Sunday 24 April 2016 in Liege AFP Belga DIRK WAEM Belgium OUT Photo credit should read DIRK WAEMAFP via Getty Images
2016 was the last snowy edition of Liège-Bastogne-Liège (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Liège-Bastogne-Liège, the oldest of the spring Classics and known as La Doyenne, is the last of the spring Monuments and the scene of some of the most infamous exploits in cycling history.

Run in the rugged hills of the Ardennes in south-eastern Belgium, the course has varied over its history. The first edition in 1892 was a contest of amateur gentlemen who rode from Spa to the train station in Bastogne and back. It took winner Léon Houa almost 11 hours to finish the ride, and the last rider didn't cross the line for another five hours.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Most podium finishes
Header Cell - Column 0 Rider1st2nd3rdPodiums
1Eddy Merckx5117
2Alejandro Valverde4318
3Moreno Argentin4Row 2 - Cell 3 Row 2 - Cell 4 4
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Podiums without wins
1Raymond Impanis 4
2Michael Boogerd 4
3Frans Verbeeck 4
4Joaquim Rodríguez 3
5Claude Criquielion 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Top 10s without wins
Pos.Rider NameTop 10s
1Herman Van Springel 9
2Frans Verbeeck 8
3Michael Boogerd 8
4Francesco Casagrande 6
5Claude Criquielion 6
6Samuel Sánchez 6
7Raymond Impanis 6
8Fränk Schleck 5
9Raymond Poulidor 5
10Joaquim Rodríguez 5
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Oldest winners of Liege-Bastogne-Liege
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderYearAge
1Alejandro Valverde201736
2Alexandre Vinokourov201036
3Stan Ockers195535
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Fastest editions
1Alejandro Valverde 200641.2
2Frank Vandenbroucke 199941.1
3Philippe Gilbert 201141.1
4Davide Rebellin 200440.8
5Alejandro Valverde 201540.6
6Bob Jungels 201840.3
7Alejandro Valverde 201740.3
8Alexandre Vinokourov 200540.1
9Michele Bartoli 199840.1
10Paolo Bettini 200039.9

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo
Managing Editor

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Managing Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. As former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks. Laura specialises in covering doping, anti-doping, UCI governance and performing data analysis.