TechPowered By

More tech

Tour of Wellington 2011

Date range:
January 26-30, 2011

January 30, Stage 5 : Wellington City Criterium 45km

Gough goes all out in finale

Cycling News
January 31, 2011, 7:54 GMT,
January 31, 2011, 18:50 GMT

Bennet backs himself and takes overall

Westley Gough (Subway Pro Cycling) wins the final stage ahead of Nathan Earle (Genesys Wealth Advisers).

Westley Gough (Subway Pro Cycling) wins the final stage ahead of Nathan Earle (Genesys Wealth Advisers).

view thumbnail gallery

Australian Nathan Earle (Genesys Health) was denied his fourth stage win by Subway Pro Cycling's Westley Gough who won the final stage of the International Trust House Cycle Classic yesterday in Wellington.

Gough was in the stage-winning break in the tour's final stage, a criterium raced in Wellington's inner city streets, with Earle, Lachlan Norris (Drapac) and Patrick Lane (Jayco AIS).

"My goal was to stay near the front and go with any moves that looked dangerous," Gough said. "Once I got in the winning break we worked well together and just kept the pressure on and with four laps to go I was trying to decide whether to go solo or take the gamble of a sprint finish."

Gough took the gamble of waiting for the sprint, and coming into the final corner came past the three riders to win the stage in just over an hour.

"I wondered whether I would have the sprint legs and actually quite surprised myself to get over them for the win - I'm really pleased, and after a disappointing start (to the tour) it's a great way for the team to finish," he added.

"It was hard and fast right from the start and the boys were on the front looking for opportunities and Wes was just in amazing form today," said Subway Pro Cycling manager Graeme Miller.

"Once Wes was in the front group we had Paul (Odlin) and Pete (Latham) policing things in the chase group. We totally dominated on a day that really suited our strengths and showed what we could do."

Nelson rider George Bennet (Cardno) held on to take the overall title and will depart New Zealand shortly to race overseas for the Trek-Livestrong Under 23 team.

1 Westley Gough (NZl) Subway Pro Cycling 1:03:16  
2 Nathan Earle (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers 0:00:01  
3 Lachlan Norris (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling    
4 Patrick Lane (Aus) Team Jayco-AIS    
5 Paul Odlin (NZl) Subway Pro Cycling 0:00:31  
6 Adam Semple (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 0:00:32  
7 Reuben Donati (Aus) Trust House 0:00:34  
8 Aaron Gate (NZl) New Zealand National Team 0:00:36  
9 Ben Hill (Aus) Suzuki Cycling Team    
10 Adam Phelan (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling    
11 Scott Lyttle (NZl) PureBlack Racing 0:00:37  
12 Phil Grenfell (Aus)    
13 Silas Cullen (NZl) Tait Communications 0:00:44  
14 George Bennet (NZl) Cardno Team 0:00:47  
15 Malcolm Rudolph (Aus) Team Jayco-AIS    
16 Nick Aitken (Aus) Team Jayco-AIS    
17 Richard Lang (Aus) Team Jayco-AIS 0:00:48  
18 Jason Christie (NZl) New Zealand National Team    
19 Jason Allen (NZl) Subway Pro Cycling 0:00:50  
20 Peter Latham (NZl) Subway Pro Cycling    
21 James Williamson (NZl) PureBlack Racing    
22 Glen Chadwick (NZl) PureBlack Racing 0:00:51  
23 Justin Kerr (NZl) Cardno Team 0:00:54  
24 Tim Gudsell (NZl) PureBlack Racing    
25 Mike Northey (NZl) PureBlack Racing    
DNF Joseph Cooper (NZl) Mico Revolution Racing    
DNF Alex Meenhorst (NZl) Cardno Team    
DNF Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers    
DNF Jay McCarthy (Aus) Team Jayco-AIS    
DNF Andrew Hagan (NZl) Wheelworks Racing    
DNF Ryan Obst (Aus)    
DNF Thomas Scully (NZl) Orbea Team    
DNF Benjamin Olesen (NZl) Orbea Team    
DNF Sam Rutherford (Aus)    
DNF Geoff Straub (Aus)    
DNF Scott Mullaly (NZl) Orbea Team    
DNF Shane Archbold (NZl) New Zealand National Team    
DNF Cameron Karwowski (NZl) New Zealand National Team    
DNF Michael Baker (Aus) Suzuki Cycling Team    
DNF Karl Murray (NZl) Armstrong Motor Group    
DNF Michael Phelan (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling    
DNF Mathew Marshall (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers    
DNF Chris Jory (Aus)    
DNF Hamish Tomlinson (NZl)    
DNF Matthew Talbot (NZl) R+R Team    
DNF Fraser Bermingham (NZl) Orbea Team    
DNF Michael Naylor (NZl) Wheelworks Racing    
DNF Daniel Coombes (NZl) Wheelworks Racing    
DNF Logan Somers-Edgar (NZl)    
DNF Mathew Gorter (NZl) Subway Pro Cycling    
DNF Brad Carter (NZl) Mico Revolution Racing    
DNF Dylan Wallis (Aus) Trust House    
DNF Wade Mangham (NZl) Cardno Team    
DNF Tom David (NZl) Cardno Team    
DNF Louis Wright (NZl) Mico Revolution Racing    
DNF Michael Vink (NZl) R+R Team    
DNF Nathan Tuck (NZl) R+R Team    
DNF Stephen Bomball (Aus) Suzuki Cycling Team    
DNF Marc Williams (Aus) Suzuki Cycling Team    
DNF Greg Taylor (NZl) Wheelworks Racing    
DNF Aidan McKenzie (Aus) Trust House    
DNF Jonathan Lovelock (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers    
DNF Ryan Sissons (NZl) Armstrong Motor Group    
DNF Alex Malone (Aus)    
DNF Darcy Ellerm-Norton (NZl)    
DNF James Early (NZl) R+R Team    
DNF Matthew Sillars (NZl) Armstrong Motor Group    
DNF Oliver Harding-Sheath (NZl) Tait Communications    
Final general classification
1 George Bennet (NZl) Cardno Team