Pieters wins elite women's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Johansson and Armitstead round out top three

Amy Pieters (Team Giant-Shimano) won the women’s edition Omloop Het Nieuwsblad in Belgium on Saturday beating Emma Johansson (Orica – AIS) and Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) into second and third, respectfully.

The trio broke clear midway through the race and despite a concentrated effort to reel in the break they survived with Liesbet De Vocht (Lotto Belisol Ladies) leading home the bunch in fourth.

The win was Pieters second triumph of the season so far after she also won a stage at the Ladies Tour of Qatar last month.

“Four of us got away on the Paterberg and then on the Paderstraat it dropped to three. I knew they were good sprinters too but I was confident in myself and knew that if it came back together we had Kirsten [Wild] behind.

“I started the sprint from the front and it really was all or nothing. What a start to the season. The team work was fantastic again today. It’s great to be part of such a good group and to have the support that we do.

With Wild in such strong form following her overall success and dominance in Qatar, (Team Giant-Shimano) played the perfect tactic with Pieters in the move and Wild covering from behind.

“The tactics for today were for Amy to be the leader. It worked out really well and when she was in front we were in the great situation of having Kirsten Wild and Maaike Polspoel behind to keep the pressure on the other teams,” said their team coach.

“We expected that the break would go early but we didn’t think that such a small group would make it all the way to the finish. The gap went out to 1’50″ at which point we put some pressure on behind to make sure that we still had other cards to play. It worked out perfectly and it’s amazing that we still have a 100% win record. It’s like a dream.”



Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Amy Pieters (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano3:30:15 
2Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica - AIS  
3Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
4Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies0:00:06 
5Kirsten Wild (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano  
6Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata  
7Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Specialized - Lululemon  
8Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Hitec Products  
9Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
10Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
11Irene San Sebastian Lasa (Spa)  
12Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
13Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
14Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
15Kaat Hannes (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
16Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
17Latoya Brulee (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata  
18Jessie Daams (Bel) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
19Thalita De Jong (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
20Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized - Lululemon  
21Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Team Giant-Shimano  
22Audrey Cordon (Fra) Hitec Products0:00:11 
23Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica - AIS  
24Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:13 
25Janneke Ensing (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:22 
26Lucinda Brand (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:03:53 
27Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products  
28Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products0:06:22 
29Daniela Gass (Ger) Autoglas Wetteren Cycling Team  
30Elise Delzenne (Fra) Specialized - Lululemon  
31Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata  
32Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano  
33Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
34Samantha Schneider (USA) Tibco / To The Top  
35Kaat Van Der Meulen (Bel) Keukens Redant Cycling Team  
36Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) Tibco / To The Top  
37Esra Tromp (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
38Evy Kuijpers (Ned) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata  
39Anouska Koster (Ned) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata  
40Hanna Nilsson (Swe) Autoglas Wetteren Cycling Team  
41Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata  
42Francesca Cauz (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
43Lucy Garner (GBr) Team Giant-Shimano  
44Jessy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
45Sarah Roy (Aus) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.  
46Lauren Stephens (USA) Tibco / To The Top  
47Ines Klok (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team  
48Mary Rose Postma (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team  
49Celine Van Severen (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
50Femke Van Kessel (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team  
51Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
52Valerie Demey (Bel) Keukens Redant Cycling Team  
53Alexis Ryan (USA) Usa National Team  
54Mirthe Wagenaar (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team  
55Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized - Lululemon  
56Charlotte Becker (Ger) Wiggle Honda  
57Ann-Sophie Duyck (Bel) Autoglas Wetteren Cycling Team  
58Sarah Rijkes (Aut) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
59Anna Knauer (Ger) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
60Willeke Knol (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano  
61Stephanie De Croock (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen  
62Jessie Maclean (Aus) Orica - AIS  
63Lauren Komanski (USA) Usa National Team  
64Mayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Wiggle Honda  
65Maura Kinsella (USA) Usa National Team  
66Anna Sanchis Chafer (Spa) Wiggle Honda  
67Iris Slappendel (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:06:29 
68Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Orica - AIS  
69Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
70Julia Soek (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano  
71Jeanne Koorevaar (Ned) Jan Van Arckel  
72Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team0:06:32 
73Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Estado De Mexico Faren0:06:38 
74Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.  
75Steffy Van Den Haute (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen0:08:50 
76Kelly Markus (Ned) Team Rytger0:08:52 
77Isabelle Beckers (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
78Nathasja Nieuwenhuizen (Ned) Endura Lady Force  
79Emma Grant (GBr) Tibco / To The Top  
80Nina Kessler (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
81Kelly Van Den Steen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
82Irene Bitto (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
83Marion Rousse (Fra) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
84Roxane Fournier (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.  
85Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.  
86Chiara Pierobon (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
87Nike Beckeringh (Ned) Jan Van Arckel  
88Tamina Oliver (GBr) Endura Lady Force  
89Kim De Baat (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
90Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle Honda  
91Carlee Taylor (Aus) Orica - AIS  
92Anisha Vekemans (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
93Lensy Debboudt (Bel) Keukens Redant Cycling Team  
94Giada Borgato (Ita) Estado De Mexico Faren  
95Marjolein Claessen (Ned) Endura Lady Force  
96Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica - AIS  
97Asja Paladin (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
98Amanda Miller (USA) Tibco / To The Top  
99Rikke Lønne (Den) Team Rytger0:10:30 
100Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
101Mieke Leeman (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen  
102Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products  
103Melanie Späth (Irl) Team Rytger  
104Lucy Coldwell (GBr) Scotland  
105Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Estado De Mexico Faren  
106Judith Bloem (Ned) Jan Van Arckel  
107Hilde Oudman (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team  
108Emily Collins (NZl) Wiggle Honda  

Related Articles

Back to top