Vuelta team time trial start times confirmed

Footon-Servetto first team off in Seville

Footon-Servetto will be the first team to start this evening’s opening team time trial at the Vuelta a España. The time trial around the streets of Seville begins at the unusual night time of 22:04 CET.

The 22 teams taking part in this year's Tour of Spain were presented in a late-evening ceremony in Seville on Friday, the site of the opening stages.

The teams will tackle the 13km course at four-minute intervals, with the locally-sponsored Andalucía-CajaSur outfit the last team off, at 23:28. Iñigo Cuesta, riding a record 17th consecutive Vuelta, has been given the honour of wearing number one in this year’s race, and his soon to be defunct Cérvelo TestTeam is the penultimate team to take the start at 23:24.

Among the teams fancied to take the win are Team Saxo Bank, that starts at 23:16. Bjarne Riis' team has the advantage of starting after both Garmin-Transitions (23:04) and HTC-Columbia (22:24), both of whom are sending well-drilled units to Seville. Giro d’Italia team time trial winners Liquigas-Doimo (22:56) and a motivated Caisse d’Epargne team (23:12) featuring some solid rouleur are two other start times to note in the list.

Vuelta a España TTT start times:

22:04 Footon-Servetto-Fuji
22:08 AG2R
22:12 Team Milram
22:16 Team Katusha
22:20 BBOX Bouygues Telecom
22:24 Team HTC-Columbia
22:28 Quick Step
22:32 Omega Pharma-Lotto
22:36 FDJ
22:40 Euskaltel-Euskadi
22:44 Lampre-Farnese Vini
22:48 Team Sky
22:52 Cofidis
22:56 Liquigas-Doimo
23:00 Xacobeo Galicia
23:04 Garmin-Transitions
23:08 Astana
23:12 Caisse d'Epargne
23:16 Saxo Bank
23:20 Rabobank
23:24 Cervélo
23:28 Andalucía-CajaSur

Related Articles

Back to top