Skip to main content

Cervélo TestTeam and Footon-Servetto confirm teams for Vuelta a España

Cervélo TestTeam and Footon-Servetto  have confirmed their nine-rider teams for the Vuelta a España that begins in Seville on Saturday.

Cervélo TestTeam has named an experienced team to support Carlos Sastre and Thor Hushovd, while Footon-Servetto has gone for a youthful team with an average of just 26.

Hushovd will look for stage victories for Cervélo TestTeam as he builds up for the world championships, while Sastre is targeting a place on the podium in his last Grand Tour with the team before moving to Geox. Also in the Cervélo TestTeam line-up are Dutch sprinter Theo Bos and Ireland’s Philip Deignan, who won a stage and finished ninth overall in last year’s Vuelta.

The Footon-Servetto riders will look for stage victories, with Rafael Valls, Giampaolo Cheula, Martin Pedersen, Manuel Cardoso and David Vitoria. Valls impressed in the Tour de France, while Cardoso won stage three at the Tour Down Under.

Cervélo TestTeam for the Vuelta a España:

Theo Bos
Iñigo Cuesta
Philip Deignan
Stefan Denifl
Xavier Florencio
Thor Hushovd
Oscar Pujol
Xavier Tondo
Carlos Sastre
Reserve: Roger Hammond


Rafael Valls
Manuel Cardoso
Alberto Benítez
Arkaitz Durán
David Gutiérrez Gutiérrez
Enrique Mata
Giampaolo Cheula
Martin Pedersen
David Vitoria

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen is the most experienced member of the Cyclingnews team, having reported on professional cycling since 1994. He has held the position of European editor since 2012 and previously worked for Reuters, Shift Active Media, and Cycling Weekly, among other publications.