Milan-San Remo news shorts

Cancellara, Ciolek but no Rebellin

Six former winners in action

There will be six former winners of Milan-San Remo in the 200-rider peloton of this year’s race: Filippo Pozzato (2006), Fabian Cancellara (2008), Mark Cavendish (2009), Matt Goss (2011), Gerald Ciolek (2013), Alexander Kristoff (2014).

No Rebellin in CCC Sprandi team

Davide Rebellin was one of the strongest riders in Thursday’s GP Nobili, going on the attack with Alejandro Valverde, but the Italian veteran has been left out of the CCC Sprandi team for Milan-San Remo.

Instead the Polish squad will be lead by Grega Bole, who finished fifth in the sprint at the GP Nobili sprint.

The Polish team secured a wildcard invitation to Milan-San Remo and the Giro d’Italia but it seems that Rebellin is persona non grata by organisers RCS Sport. Rebellin tested positive for CERA at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing after winning the bronze medal. He is the first ever Italian athlete forced to give back an Olympic medal.

Cancellara looking to continue podium streak

Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing) will be aiming to land his 13th podium spot in monument Classics this weekend. The Swiss rider has finished on the podium at Milan-San Remo for the last four years.

Ciolek takes confidence from recent track record

Gerald Ciolek and Matthew Goss, two former winners, will spearhead MTN’s challenge this weekend. The German sprinter has started to show some form at the right time with a strong performance on the penultimate day of Tirreno.

“I have enjoyed some good results at Milan-Sanremo winning the race two years ago and placing in the top 10 last March. This year we come back with a very strong team. We showed at Tirreno-Adriatico that we can play a lot of cards and we're definitely looking forward to it. We want to perform well, also because we're trying to fund one bicycle per kilometer for the Qhubeka charity on Sunday.”


Related Articles

Back to top