GB juniors on top of the world

Great Britain's junior track cycling team returned from the junior world road championships in...

Great Britain's junior track cycling team returned from the junior world road championships in Belgium with a record haul of medals and the accolade of being the top nation at the event.

The four day championships were held in Gent, Belgium (August 5-8). The GB team arrived at the championships with high hopes following their most successful ever European Championships, just a couple of weeks before. All expectations were exceeded as the team collected ten medals, five of them gold.

Star performer was 18 year-old sprinter Jason Kenny from Bolton who picked up three golds, winning the sprint and keirin and sharing in the team sprint gold with Christian Lyte and David Daniell. GB's top female sprinter Anna Blyth was also in outstanding form, winning the keirin and finishing runner-up in the sprint. Endurance rider Peter Kennaugh, from the Isle of Man was also a multiple medal winner, collecting a gold in the scratch race and a bronze as part of the team pursuit quartet.

The GB Team's Performance Director, Dave Brailsford, was understandably pleased with the success of the team: "The team performed superbly in Belgium. The performances are a credit to the riders and to the support staff who work with them," he said.

"We only launched our junior programme 18 months ago, and as recently as 2002, we only sent two riders to the championships and came away without a medal. So, to be the number one nation at this year's World Championships is some going, I think!" exclaimed Brailsford.

Speaking after her Keirin win, Anna Blyth gave credit to the system, which has helped her achieve her success. "We have had training camps during the school holidays and coach-led weekends each month. Now we go to races with a lot of experience of tactics to use," said Blyth. "A lot of us also go to senior squad sessions when we can. I have also had a good programme of conditioning training."

Great Britain medal winners:

Team sprint: Christian Lyte, Jason Kenny, David Daniell
Keirin: Jason Kenny
Scratch: Peter Kennaugh
Sprint: Anna Blyth
Sprint: Jason Kenny

Kilo: Christian Lyte
Points: Jonny Bellis
Sprint: Anna Blyth

Kilo: David Daniell
Team Pursuit: Alex Dowsett, Jonny Bellis, Steven Burke and Peter Kennaugh

Back to top