Vuelta Ciclista a la Provincia de San Juan 2018

Latest News from the Race

Vuelta Ciclista a la Provincia de San Juan race overview



The 2018 Vuelta Ciclista a la Provincia de San Juan, or Vuelta a San Juan for simplification, will once again serve as a launching pad into the 2018 season for Classics and Grand Tour contenders alike. Trek-Segafredo's Bauke Mollema won last year's race, which returned to the fore after the Tour de San Luis was cancelled.


Despite Mollema's overall win, Quick-Step Floors made headlines nearly every day with five wins out of seven stages. Fernando Gaviria and Max Richeze each doubled up on stage victories, while Tom Boonen claimed the stage 2 sprint as he prepared for his final Paris-Roubaix. Ramunas Navardauskas (Bahrain-Merida) won the time trial, and Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) took the Queen stage to Alto Colorado.


Gaviria and Richeze will return for Quick-Step Floors in 2018, while Trek-Segafredo's defence will be in the hands of Jarlinson Pantano. Vincenzo Nibali will lead Bahrain-Merida, while Colombian Darwin Atapuma will take the reins at UAE Team Emirates.


Eduardo Sepúlveda will lead Movistar in his first race with his new team, while Rafal Majka will return to his familiar spot at the head of affairs for Bora-Hansgrohe. Lotto Soudal bring a strong Classics-looking squad for the flat stages.


Other teams in the race include Israel Cycling Academy, UnitedHealthcare, Androni-Sidermac, Wilier Trestina, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Canel's Specialized, Sindicato Empleados Públicos of San Juan, Unieuro Trevigiani-Hemus 1896, Medellin-Inder, Coldeportes-Claro and national teams from Argentina, Italy, Uruguay, Chile and Cuba.

Read the full preview


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final 2017 GC Top 10
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo20:19:00
2Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Medellin - Inder0:00:14
3Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:00:16
4Ricardo Escuela (Arg) Agrupacion Virgen De Fatima0:00:20
5Rui Costa (Por) Team UAE Abu Dhabi0:00:26
6Laureano Rosas (Arg) Argentina0:00:27
7Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team0:00:49
8Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team0:01:15
9Egan Bernal (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec0:01:29
10Pieter Serry (Bel) Quick-Step Floors0:01:31



Top News on the Race

Related Features