Philadelphia International Cycling Classic - Women 2016

Latest News from the Race

Philadelphia International Cycling Classic - Women's race overview


The Philadelphia International Cycling Classic will host the ninth leg of the Women’s WorldTour on June 5 in Pennsylvania. The race will start with 20 teams but without world champion and defending champion, Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans). It will host her two teammates, WorldTour leader Megan Guarnier and two-time winner on Manayunk Wall, Evelyn Stevens.


Organisers, G4 Productions, have once again utilized the Manayunk Wall for the event’s start-finish location. The women will follow a 19.2km circuit that includes climbs over Lemon Hill, Strawberry Mansion and flat sections along Kelly Drive. They will compete for six totalling roughly 115km.


Armitstead won three rounds of the Women’s WorldTour: Strade Bianche, Trofeo Alfredo Binda-Cittiglio, and the Tour of Flanders. Her teammate Chantal Blaak won rounds two and four at Ronde van Drenthe and Gent-Wevelgem. Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) won La Flèche Wallonne, Chloe Hosking (Wiggle High5) won the Tour of Chongming Island and Guarnier is fresh of an overall victory at the Women’s Tour of California.


Guarnier now lead the series with 504 points ahead of Johansson with 398 points and Armitstead with 368.


At the 2015 Philadelphia Cycling Classic, Armitstead won the race and took over the World Cup lead. The British rider sprinted up Manayunk Wall ahead of Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle Honda) and Alena Amialiusik (Velocio-SRAM).


2015 Philadelphia Cycling Classic | 2014 Philadelphia Cycling Classic | 2013 Philadelphia Cycling Classic | Previous Winners


2015 Philadelphia Cycling Classic - Top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team2:58:01
2Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle Honda
3Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Velocio - SRAM0:00:01
4Shelley Olds (USA) Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:00:02
5Coryn Rivera (USA) UnitedHealthcare Cycling Team0:00:03
6Evelyn Stevens (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:05
7Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:00:06
8Lex Albrecht (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
9Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Ale Cipollini0:00:07
10Ariane Horbach (Ger) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:00:12


Top News on the Race

Related Features