Liege - Bastogne - Liege 2016

Latest News from the Race

After the exertions of Amstel Gold Race and La Flèche Wallonne, the curtain falls on the Ardennes triptych - and indeed on the Spring Classics - with Liège-Bastogne-Liège on Sunday April 24. 

Known as La Doyenne, the race is the oldest of all the Classics, having first been contested back in 1892, and it's the fourth of five Monuments in the season. It also widely regarded as the toughest, thanks to its succession of punishing climbs. 

The likes of the Côte de la Redoute, the race's most emblematic climb, the Côte de Roche aux Faucons, and the Côte Saint-Nicolas - all coming late into the race - will shape proceedings, as will the frantic kilometres that separate them. 

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) will once again be the man to beat after claiming his third title last year ahead of young revelation Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx-QuickStep) and Joaquim Rodríguez (Katusha). The 35-year-old Spaniard has a quality record here over the years, with seven podium finishes from 10 participations. 

Alaphilippe will combine with 2013 winner Dan Martin to lead the Etixx-QuickStep charge, while Michal Kwiatkowski heads up Team Sky's continuing search for a monument win. Elsewhere, Rodríguez will again be a threat, as will 2014 winner Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) and decorated Ardennes rider Philippe Gilbert (BMC). 

2015 Liège-Bastogne-Liège2014 Liège-Bastogne-Liège | 2013 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

2015 Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team6:14:20
2Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx - Quick-Step
3Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha
4Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida
5Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo
6Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
7Sergio Luis Henao (Col) Team Sky
8Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
9Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team
10Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Team Katusha


Top News on the Race

Related Features